Another great old car still going!steemCreated with Sketch.

IMG_8264.JPG

What a beauty and still in excellent condition! This is the famous MG Sportcar!

A bit of history:

MG, the initials of Morris Garages, is a British automotive marque registered by the now defunct MG Car Company Limited,[note 1] a British sports car manufacturer begun in the 1920s as a sales promotion sideline within W. R. Morris's Oxford city retail sales and service business by the business's manager, Cecil Kimber.[2] Best known for its two-seat open sports cars, MG also produced saloons and coupés. Kimber was an employee of William Morris.
The MG business was Morris's personal property until 1 July 1935[3] when he sold MG to his holding company, Morris Motors Limited, restructuring his holdings before issuing (preference) shares in Morris Motors to the public in 1936. MG underwent many changes in ownership starting with Morris merging with Austin in The British Motor Corporation Limited in 1952. MG became the MG Division of BMC in 1967[4] and so a component of the 1968 merger that created British Leyland Motor Corporation.

Taken from: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MG_Cars

IMG_8268.JPG

IMG_8266.JPG

IMG_20180902_135504.jpg

Imagine tripping on a slow cruise in this with the top down on a very hot day!

We used to live near a famous farm stall and on occasion some amazing old cars would stop there. The drivers were mostly en route to one of the local towns, or on their way to the big city of Cape town and they would stop off to have something to eat or a coffee to keep them awake on the road.
Here is a perfect example.

We hope you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

Sort:  

I like the old cars! It gives me the freedom to imagine how old times went, driving one of these :)

Oh yes! Travelling on a slow cruise on a hot day with the wind playing in your hair.
Certainly brings back the glory of the old days!
Blessings!

I must say these old MG's are some of my favorite cars!!

Thank you and I also liked them.
I had a choice between a Triumph Spitfire car, the old ones with the spare wheel mounted on the back boot and a Triumph Bonneville motor bike. I bought the Bonny.
Sometimes a person wonder about your choices!
Blessings!

Wow.😍 The car looks very unique and cool.. I have never seen this car directly..

Certainly a great old car my friend!
Blessings!

It seems like you run into very cool cars quite often :0)
Another awesome one.... I'll have one of those, please. 😂

@simplymike I so wish that I could give you one, but they are as scarce as hen's teeth and VERY expensive.
Btw. I went to your post at #qurator and its not posted in steemit, so I can't comment or vote on it?
I think it was posted in #steempeak?
Blessings!

Ah, I must have forgotten to change the link. You should be able to visit it by changing the URL from steempeak to steemit

I love these old MG's such a cool and classic car :)

They are great JJ and today I got a much later model MG, but I prefer the old ones!
Blessings!

I look forward to seeing the new shots but like you I also prefer the older model ones that had such cool style

That look so awesome. Can you ship it for me to the Philippines? Haha thanks for sharing this with us

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't think you and certainly not me have the money to buy one of these my friend!
That's what dreams are made of!
Blessings!

I love old cars

Same here my friend!
Blessings!

That's a fine looking vehicle. I wonder how many miles to the galleon?

Thank you and you can Google "MG Motor Cars" to see the stats on its gas consumption.
Blessings!

Amazing seeing the old classics still on the road, door swung back with runner to place your foot on Stephen.

In those days they designed cars with people and comfort in mind Lady Joan.
Today they design cars with performance and consumption in mind.
A big difference!

OMG another one, you are so lucky to come across these beauties. We see these only in museums. I love this one the most!

Thank you and I am glad that you also liked it my friend.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62