Famous export fruit of our apple valley!

Have you ever heard of the Pink Lady apples?

All of the apples in the orchards are numbered and certified as top quality fruit. And believe me that these apples are delicious. Sadly none of the trees are in fruit yet, as we are emerging from the winter season and I will post fruit bearing trees later in the year.
I took a few shots of the Pink Lady farm today.
Have a look.

Certainly a lovely and arty front gate to the farm.

The two buildings at the left are workshops and also tractor stores!

As I said, we are slowly coming out of the winter season and the trees are gradually waking up from their winter sleep.

Soon all of the apple farms in the valley will be turned into a hive of activity, as the trees require constant attention, but in the meantime huge quantities of packing crates are delivered to all of the farms every day.
This will be our first full season here and I look forward to learning all of the tricks of the trade. I had a jump start as we arrived in winter and I learnt about tree care such as, pruning, clearing, soil preparation, pest protection systems, irrigation maintenance and watering measurements.
Amazing how much work it takes to have healthy crops.

I hope you have enjoyed this post by @papilloncharity.

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Can’t wait to see the trees in blossom and the fruits 🍎

@starjewel we have visited before we settled here and let me tell you that its a real fairy land of colors when the valley blossoms! Blessings!

In this the only farm where Pink Lady's are grown @papilloncharity? If it is that explains why they are so expensive in the UK.

They are my favourites. My daughter introduced them to me but I only buy them from time to time.

Partly because of the high price and partly because I feel I should local growers and we have many good, local apples.

@gillianpearce I think there are also other apple farms in the USA and Australia that grow Pink Ladies Lady Gillian. It's a very special brand of apple and I know that two different apple types were blended to create a perfect new root. Blessings!

Apples are nice enough... but I'm more into bananas this month :P
Not nearly as dirty as it sounds... check my blog for what I mean ;-)

@braaiboy, checked, commented and upvoted your blog my friend. Maybe I should try to braai an apple? I can ask a fabulous chef @lizelle for some ideas. Blessings!

Grilled apples are delicious... you can keep it simple with just cinnamon and sugar and maybe a drizzle of honey once they come off.

Awesome article on Pink Lady apples..
beautiful article friend..

@tussar11 Glad you liked it and Pink Ladies are certainly special apples. Blessings!

Pink apples are delicious, cannot wait to see your photography when flowering begins attracting birds and bees into your backyard @papilloncharity

@joanstewart there is also a fruit orchard here and I see the peach and plum trees are starting to blossom Lady Joan. There's also cherry, figs and other varieties that have not blossomed yet! Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25