Some beautiful, wild African birds!

Ever seen a "Green Wood-hoopoe" catch a bug in the air?

We had a surprise visit by a pair of these beautiful birds and of course I had my camera ready. They are wild and very shy and so I had to be ultra careful as I followed them around. They normally scatter at the first sight of a human.
Here, let me show you!

They used to be called "Red Billed Hoopoes" and I don't know why they changed their names to "Green Wood-hoopoe"?

And here's the other one with a bug!

Take note the movement of the bug's front legs into a different position, which means that the bug is alive!

Here he takes off with the bug!

She said; "Hello neighbor, cold day isn't it"?

Here they landed in a Palm tree up the road!

They scratched in the old bark of the palm tree searching for insects!

Oops! He saw me and boom, they were gone!

The loud cackling sound of these birds can almost wake the dead, as they scramble from tree to tree! Their native name here in South Africa is "Kakelaar" meaning that they make a noise like a bunch of hysterical women. In days gone by they could only be found in dry forests, but due to the destruction and deforestation of their habitat, they have since invaded the city suburbs. Now when I say that I am restless, believe me that I don't have a patch on these birds!
I must have scampered half a mile to keep up as they flitted from one tree to the next.
Hope you enjoyed the post!

Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

You always seem to be in the right place at the right time. Zapping off those pics even as the birds eat their prey!

I must say I smiled when you showed one pic of the hoophoe lifting off and the next where it landed. How bloody fast are you running? :P

Hahaha, although I have not run since 1980 due to a serious motorbike accident that left my one leg 25mm shorter, children of the Spirit are like the wind my brother! They are here, there and everywhere! Who can control the wind, as the wind simply goes where it wants to! Selah!

This explains a lot. You are teleporting from place to place, taking pictures of the birds!

Believe it or not, what I said is actually biblical bru!

Gush your photos are just super amazing. The green wood-hoopoe is beautiful. I hope I spell the name correctly. No doubt I will have to spend my December with you to see this pieces of beauty you always feed me with.

They are indeed beautiful birds my friend, but to catch them with a camera is very difficult! Blessings and thank you! @giftedwords

"Laat Waai" they sure make a noise, it took me ages to capture a couple of photo's of these guys over the years.

We can hear them down here often in the bush, they move from tree to tree so fast, you have managed some great photography catches here @papilloncharity

You are always so encouraging Lady Joan! They are certainly restless birds and I would love to know what they say to each other when everyone chips in! Like I said; their noise can wake the dead Lol @joanstewart

Wonderful post and photos. Thank you so much for sharing!

Thank you Lady @hope777 and it's always a mission to get these birds on a camera! Glad you liked the photos! Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12