Animal photography: identify this creature and win SBI (updated - we have a winner already)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Monday used to be reserved for the animal photography contest (one of my favorite) and even though those photo contests hosted by @juliank are long gone, I like to stick to their original schedule sometimes so let me show you some cool animal images today. To make it a bit more interesting, however, I decided to incorporate a little quiz into this post.

First, I will show you just a zoomed part of an animal photo and whoever will be the first person to correctly identify the featured animal in the comments below, will win 1 SBI share from me. After that, I will edit the post to show you a few more photos of the same animal.

Ready? :) There you go...

IMG_20181127_140151.jpg

UPDATE: It took some time (and a marine biologist from Mexico :D) but we finally got the correct answer - the mysterious creature is the Atlantic horseshoe crab (Limulus Polyphemus). Congrats to @juanbg who recognized it.

The horseshoe crab is a super interesting animal and I will definitely dedicate a whole post to it soon but for now, let me just add the other photos of it that I promised to post after we get a winner.

Czech / Česky:

Do tohoto kvízu se zapojilo i několik členů českého rybníčku (za což vám děkuji), takže přikládám i české rozřešení. Zvířátko na fotkách se jmenuje ostrorep americký. Mimořádně zajímavý členovec, který se nám dochoval z dávných dob dinosuarů. Brzy o něm napíšu samostatný post ;)

IMG_20181127_140203.jpg

IMG_20181127_140238.jpg

IMG_20181127_140136.jpg

Thank you everyone for participating. More contests coming soon so stay tuned ;)



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Scientific name: Limulus polyfemus. That's an Atlantic horseshoe crab. I really like it!

That´s right!! :) I had no idea a Marine biologist from Mexico would have to come to this contest to win it :D Thank you so much for participating, I have already paid that SBI share for you. I will also keep an eye on your blog as it looks like we both share passion for nature and marine life :) Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks a lot @phortun and that's right... We share that passion for marine life!

Oh yeah, we do :) I just checked your profile briefly and was surprised to find so many familiar places! I lived in Playa del Carmen for over a year and I visited most of the cool places all over Riviera Maya like Akumal, Xpu-Ha, Puerto Morelos, Tulum, Xcacel or Puerto Aventuras where you worked as the dolphin trainer. Now this is interesting to me - you must be a huge nature lover so how could you work in such facility where they keep the dolphins in little concrete tanks and make them perform tricks for tourists? :( I always felt very sad when I saw the dolphins, manatees and sea lions in Puerto Aventuras :(

So, where are you from? Are you Mexican?

No, I come from the Czech Republic but I have been living in different places and countries for the past couple of years. Currently in Telchac Puerto ;)

Very well! So, I'm living in Mérida, Yucatán
Let me tell you, at first, I also thought there was some abuse to the animals in captivity, I had to spend a considerable time living with the animals to realize that it is not as bad as it seems for several reasons ... The "tricks" that they perform are part of their natural behavior in wildlife, they live more than twice as many years under human care (there is a record of 62 years), the diet they receive is truly appropriate for each of the dolphins. In short, I see him as the football stars, they have luxuries, they live well, they have a good quality of life, but they need to "work" doing what they like to do.

Thank you for this interesting insight Juan. I totally see your points but I think I will never be able to consider large marine mammals like doplhins or even orcas to be happy when they are kept somewhere. You know their natural territories in the sea cover hundreds - if not thousands of square kilometers and while they surely show some playful behaviour in the wild, they are definitely not used and anatomically designed for carrying tourists etc. This is my opinion. But I am no expert though, just a devoted nature lover and animal rights advocate. Do you still work in Puerto Aventuras or what is your current job?

Congrats with winning the SBI share! Good job with the identification :)

Thanks a lot! :)

Some kind of Crayfish? :P

Krab, možná Poustevník ;-)
Crab, maybe Hermit ;-)

K takovým stvořením se moc nedostanu. Je fakt, že to má moc nožiček ;-)

Tak to si počkej na ty fotky, co zveřejním po uhádnutí :D

Pěkná potvůrka :-)

Dungeness crab? For dinner ?:P

Nee :) A na večeři taky nee, byl už chudáček mrtvý :(

Tak dej nápovědu, zda to nahoře patří tomu tvoru nebo se tam jen schovávalo :))

Patří to k tomu zvířátku :)

Ráček poustevníček? :) Nebo spíš Krab poustevník .. v Mexiku :P

To už zkoušel bucík :D Teď jsem přidal dvě malé nápovědy ;)

Is that Diatomaceous Earth or sand? Crab Spider?

It is sand. Crab spider is not the correct answer.

Je to korýš v banánové slupce :-)

Ani korýš, ani banán, ale pokus dobrý :D

:-) Je to vůbec živočich, není to nějaká rostlina? :-)

Ano, je to zvířátko :)

Maličká krakatice :-)

Nene, právě bylo uhodnuto, tak se mrkni znovu na post ;)

Zajímavá potvůrka. Tak to bych neuhádl. Je jak z pravěku trilobit :-)

[-]jjprac (64) · 4 hours ago Je to korýš v banánové slupce :-)

:D 100 bodov! @jjprac

Congratulations @phortun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey @phortun, that looks a spiny lobster.

Hey, it does but it is not actually :)

This post has received a 7.4 % upvote from @boomerang.


You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @liltammy

We have planted already
4790.94 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 30883.25
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02