Animal Photography: story of how I saved a peacock butterfly

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

I am always happy to participate in the #animalphotography contest hosted by @juliank so let me brighten up your Monday with another cute animal photo.

IMG_20180626_164347.jpg

Click on the image for full view

Now I know this is not the greatest (nor the sharpest) butterfly close-up you have ever seen but what my today´s entry may lack in the quality, I can (hopefully) make up for with the story that is behind that :)

This colorful beauty is known as the peacock butterfly or the European peacock and even though this species is very common in my country (as well as in many other parts of Europe I guess), I hate to find them injured or dead. Yet, this is exactly what would probably happen to this little fella if I did not intervene.

I was cycling through a park in a small village outside of my Czech hometown in a heavy rain when I spotted this guy desperately trying to get out of a puddle of muddy water right in the middle of the path. I got down off the bike, grabbed a few grass straws, scooped the poor creature carefully and put him down on a dry piece of moss under a huge leafy tree so that he could dry his wings and have some rest. (that is also where I took the photo of him)

It was pouring down like crazy so I did not really have time to observe my little patient´progress but I am pretty sure he fully recovered and is fine now :)

Have you also saved an animal´s life recently? Let me know in the comment section below, I would love to read your stories ;)


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

That's a great story! It's nice to be able to help out the small insects when we see them struggle. I don't think I have saved any animal lives recently, so I don't have anything to share when it comes to that :/

Thanks @valth :) And don´t feel bad for not saving any particular animal lately - your educative and inspirational posts about conservation have been much more helpful for the nature´s well-being than this little "rescue action" of mine ;) Keep up your amazing work my friend.

I love that photograph @phortun. It looks sharp enough on my computer screen and I love the colours in the background.

Something a bit different! 😊

Thank you, it is very kind of you :)

So sweet:) I think it is a great picture, sure the colours of the background together with the butterfly can be confusing the eye but still great! Happy to see you managed to save such a wonder. I was always told if you touch a butterfly it will lose its "dust" or whatever and die. Seems like you were just as careful as I would be!

Thanks for stopping by @holm :) Yeah, we are told the same here (not to touch butterflies´ wings) so I was very careful and "scoop" it from below.

amazing story friend..
beautiful butterfly...

Ty sa chodievas bajkovat ked hentak masivne prsi? :D

Víš, že jsem si myslel, že z celého postu vypíchneš zrovna tohle? :D "Bajkovat" jsem šel samozřejmě za hezkého počasí, ale jak to někdy v létě bývá, zastihla mě bouřka, která byla rychlejší než já :D

That is the prettiest butterfly I have ever seen and what a terrific story! Glad you were able to save his day.

Aww, really?? :) Thank you so much!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-13T13:49:45
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1983.56/3200.00
Total Photos: 195
Total comments: 226
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 5.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=animal-photography-story-of-how-i-saved-a-peacock-butterfly


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Lovely art images and what a grasping piece to have captured. award deserving picture. You waited for a long term to get the favored perfection and all of it is really worth the wait. lovable view and fantastic surroundings. Hold up the best work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87