Macro Photography: close-up of the Roman snail (Helix Pomatia)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

I am happy to join the #macrophotography contest hosted by @juliank after some time again. Yesterday, when enjoying my regular afternoon walk through the Silesian countryside, I stumbled on (luckily not literally hehe :) this beautiful little fella who was just "rushing" to the other side of the path.

IMG_20180808_180720.jpg

Click on the image for full view

For obvious reasons, taking photos of snails is quite easy in general but I think this guy was a true snail model as he appeared to fully enjoy "being in the spotlight" of my mobile phone camera. As this species is very common in my country (as well as in most Europe), I had no doubts about the identity of this guy - it is Helix Pomatia, a snail species that goes by many colloquial names such as the Roman snail, the Burgundy snail, the escargot, the edible snail etc.

This species can live for up to 10 years and it is capable of reaching "staggering" speed of up to 6 m (20 ft) per hour :) The snail is also famous for beautiful courtship and mating rituals. A couple of years ago, I was actually lucky to capture a pair of these snails "in flagranti" :) To be honest, I still feel sorry for disturbing their intimate moment but I simply could not let them go without taking this shot.

oeghx9mpmlvw1bbyem5g.jpg

Click on the image for full view

I am really sorry about that guys. I hope you still made it.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Wow

Those snails made me giggle. They will sue you I'm sure. Pretty neat shot to get though :) good job!

Thanks! :) I better get a lawyer to be ready for the snail sue :D

Hezká sonda do intimního života šneků :-)

Zní to dost úchylně, ale dík :D

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-09T12:31:42
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1964.06/3200.00
Total Photos: 192
Total comments: 226
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 5.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=macro-photography-close-up-of-the-roman-snail-helix-pomatia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89