Photo Contest: show me your best insect photo and win SBI

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

Just a couple of days ago, while on a trip to a beautiful lake hidden in the Yucatan jungle here in Mexico, I took this cool close-up of an amazingly colored tropical grasshopper.

IMG_20190525_115236.jpg

My first thought was to host another "identify this creature" contest for you but then, I got a better idea :) I love taking macro shots of insects but as far as I remember I haven´t hosted a photo contest on this theme yet so there we go - this is my first official insect photo contest! :)

If you want to join this fun, submit your insect photo in the comment section below. You can do so from now until the payout of this post next Thursday. Then, I will pick and announce 5 winners who will receive 1 SBI share each from me.

Rules are simple:

1) Only 1 entry per person.
2) Only your own photos.
3) Add a short description to the photo.

I am looking forward to checking your submissions :) Have a wonderful day and keep on steeming!



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

image-39f482bb2eec7adfc2e52b246e4e917040596e45bdcb58ef7285d9b467fcb2ca-V.jpg
Kokorunka! Moja oblubena z Malty..
(nemusis mna vybrat.. ja len tak "na pamatku":)

Beautiful ladybird!!

Pamatuju... krásná :*

I took this photo today, when I was cutting the grass! I don't know what kind of bug this is!

IMG_20190530_133239-01.jpeg

btw..nice grasshopper! :D...and I also resteemd this post as promised!

Nice one! It looks like some kind of the burying beetle.

Nice photo, I have not seen one of those here in South Africa yet!!

Hey, here's the dung beetle I spotted in the Sahara, a little amazing creature,

dungbeetle.jpg

that unfortunately has to eat shit:
IMG_1914.JPG

Nice photo, and the saying is also nice!!

Thanks! :) I’m glad you like both!

Now this is cool! :D Thanks for this great entry Donica :)

Most welcome. :) Thank YOU for always hosting contests for the community!

05.JPG

It caught my attention, you do not see many of these here, plus the luck that it was quiet for a while. I did not have to go far to find it, I found it right in the garden of my house.

Awesome macro, thank you! :)

Owlesome macro, thank you! :)


I am a bot. I detect owl related puns.

Great photo!!

DSC_0086.jpg

I took this macro shot of a bee last summer in my hometown in Germany. This little friend was sitting on one of my parents balcony plants and I thought the mix of the different colors looks really cool.
Thanks for hosting this contest!

It is not easy to find these insects sitting still!!

True! It requires time and super slow movement haha :D

Superb shot! Thanks for joining this contest Chris :)

Thanks for hosting this great contest buddy! :))

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like a mosquito. I don't like them!! (It looks a bit different than the ones we have here in South Africa)

Yes it is mosquito blood shocker.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interestingly colored mosquito. Thanks for sharing this shot with us.

This is my entry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting insect, what type of insect is this?

Interesting. I also wonder what insect it is...

She has a very tame "fly". I have no idea what the insects were.

Podivná moucha 01.jpg

Má velice krotká "moucha". Netuším ,o jaký hmyz se jednalo.

Beautiful photo!!

Thank you!

You are welcome.

Tak ta se povedla :) Díky za účast!

Děkuji :)

Mariposa.jpg
Greetings, I share the photo of a large butterfly and colorful colors that visited the home garden. It has a yellow "eye" in each tail of the wings.

This surely is a beauty!!

That's right, the butterfly is a beauty!

Beautiful butterfly, thanks for sharing this photo with us :)

aktlmaxxzp.jpg

I used a yellow apple (which gave a good contrast background), an ordinary fly (any will do, all of them love sweetie stuff); Canon 350d camera + Tamron 60-mm macro lens. No additional lighting, just daylight. And a bit of photoshop. This fly wasnt in a hurry, more than a minute she posed me motionless, I've did a dozen shots, most of them I am quite happy. After it got enough sugar, the fly did cleaning maintenance and disappeared. This, actually, was my 1st experience with taking macro of insects - I obtained a dedicated lens just last september!

ps. your grasshopper is simply amazing find.

Great photo!!

Very impressive for your first insect macro :) I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98