Vehicle Photography: Skoda oldtimer at Prague Airport

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Do you also miss the vehicle photography contest that used to be held
on Wednesdays? Well, I do sometimes as it was a perfect opportunity for me to share my photos of classic American cars from Cuba with you.

As far as I remember, I never submitted a photo taken in my Czech homeland in this contest but I recently captured something in Prague that would make a great entry for that competition so let me share this image with you today :)

IMG_20181114_055616.jpg

It is a very old model once produced by Skoda, the largest and most famous Czech car manufacturer. I did not really find much information about this particular model (other than it is displayed at the Prague Airport where I captured it) and I cannot even tell you when it was made (my guess would be 1930s or 1940s though) so let me provide you with some basic info about the Skoda brand at least.

Founded in 1895 as Laurin & Klement, Skoda is headquartered in the city of Mlada Boleslav, some 50 km (30 mi) northeast of Prague. Since 2000, the brand has been a subsidiary of the Volkswagen Group. With its cars currently sold in more than 100 countries, Skoda had the second highest profit margin of all brands belonging to the Volkswagen Group last year (right after Porsche).

The Skoda brand has always been very popular with the Czechs and you can see hundreds of thousands of Skoda cars rumbling Czech streets and roads - from outdated models such as Skoda Favorit or Skoda Felicia to the latest models like Skoda Kodiaq.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Máš pravdu! Dokonce i to číslo je stejné. Díky :)

Není zač, pátral jsem pomocí Googla :-) No jo, to je přímo to auto podle SPZ, teď na to taky koukám :-D

I didn't know that Skoda was Czech! I have never owned one of these, but it's a pretty common brand to see around my parts as well. None of them are as cool as the one in your photo tough. That's a nice vintage car!

I am happy to hear the Skodas are popular in your country too! :) As @jjprac figured out, the one that I captured is actually Skoda Rapid Sedan and it was made in 1935. Pretty old guy :)

Oh yeah, that's old for sure. It's not often to we see pre-WWII cars anymore.

Thanks for sharig older remeber car photography
This is old is gold.

Thanks for all the info. Before today I had no idea what a Skoda was.

Awesome, I am glad you learnt something new :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=vehicle-photography-skoda-oldtimer-at-prague-airport


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @phortun! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You just planted 0.08 tree(s)!


Thanks to @liltammy

We have planted already 6295.15 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 28517.44
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69