I often wonder…

in #photography5 years ago

godfried_house.jpg

… if the people who build this castle just could imagine it would still be here more than 1000 years later…

For those interested : this is the castle of Godfrey of Bouillon located in, you guessed it 😉, Bouillon,Belgium. It was first mentioned in 988 but there has been a castle on the same site for a much longer time.

And yes, just like yesterday, this picture fits perfectly in the #lookingup theme.
And yes again, just like yesterday I got very tired just by looking at it…
And finally… yes, we choose the wrong path back then… we had to go back and choose another path to reach the top. Just like a lot of invaders did before us 😉

You liked this post?

Right you are 😉
Just follow me here on steemit ( @pixelfan ) to make sure you don’t miss any new work. BTW: I will not ask you to upvote… deep down inside you know you have to 😉

Curious to see my other work?

Although I spent most of my time on steemit, you can also find me in other places… just take your pick…

steemit_500px.pngsteemit_ello.pngsteemit_facebook.pngsteemit_google.pngsteemit_insta.pngsteemit_pixelfan.pngsteemit_steemiandir.png

steemitboard.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I am sure they build it to last for more then 1000 years :P Upvoted and resteemed!

It is amazing to think of folks who built those ancient structures… and to wonder if they even imagined such a time span would still find their handiwork not only still around, but still valued.

Your photo has a very ominous sky giving the scene a wonderfully gothic feel.

KInd of amazing when you think about it, that it had been there for so long, I can't think of any Modern building that would last even a third of that time and thats being generous

I could not agree with you more on that statement. I was and am always thinking like that about old architecture. It’s amazing what they have confronted through centuries and yet here they are.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed things were built with style and to last we sure cannot say the same these days

Yes, it’s a rarity these days.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just wait for Trumps Wall :-)

LOL lets see I doubt it will be as colorful but these days who knows

LOL lets see I doubt
It will be as colorful
But these days who knows

                 - tattoodjay


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Who knows... maybe his next move is to sell the wall as a piece of art :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79