@polebird travels: ๐Ÿ Gorgeous autumn colors in the Great Smoky Mountains ๐Ÿ

in #photography โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Because I love the outdoors, I spent this past weekend exploring the Great Smoky Mountains National Park aka the Smokies. This awesome mountain range is located in Tennessee and North Carolina. The beauty of the mountains is truly augmented by the season change where shades of yellow, orange, and reds pop from the landscape.

The Smokies are named after the fog that is often present in the tops of the mountain range. The feel of the landscape changes quickly as the wind blows the fog and cloud cover through the mountain range. I like how the smoke gives the mountain a bit of a mysterious vibe.

This park is known for their population of black bears and also abundance of many other species of animals. Unfortunately, I didnโ€™t see any bears. Instead I did see a lot of wild turkeys! Here's a cute new friend that came right up to the car.

I hiked the Chimney Tops trail which was just reopened after closure due to a fire back in November 2016. There is a new observation point 0.25 miles before the rock scramble to the top of the peak (original ending point which is still closed at this time). The trail is pretty steep, 1,400 feet in 2 miles. Tree pose for the trees!

A travel tip if you are headed to the Smokies: It is pretty crowded, especially at this time of the year. It is best to arrive early in the morning to avoid A LOT of traffic going into the park.

What's your favorite place to enjoy fall colors? Let me know if you have any suggestions to put on my travel list! Hope you have a great rest of the day!

-JESS

Sort: ย 

I think this is the most amazing place i have ever seen in pictures....beautiful nature

Aw thanks!!๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™

What a gorgeous place, I love fall colors! I'm from Finland where we have a lot of different colors during fall, but right now I'm studying in southern California and autumn doesn't really seem to exist here. I miss all the bright colors, but I do enjoy the sun here :)

If you ever have the possibility to go to Finland in autumn you should go to Lapland and experience "Ruska" which basically means autumn colors. You will probably be able to spot some reindeers as well :)

oh awesome! thanks for the great suggestion -definitely have not been to finland! California is also beautiful as well, enjoy your time there!

Thank you! Yes California is gorgeous, but I have to drive for some time to get out in nature. But I like the cities and the beaches too :)

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Yesssss! always stuff going on there! :D I always have a great time on my visits to california!

Wow nice photo

Thanks!!

I did not know the great smoky mountain your post gives me really want to come and take a walk in these mountain ๐Ÿ˜€
I advise you to come in France we have very beautiful color in autumn I am in the Alps is often a beautiful painting

awwww! YAY! so glad to give you that feeling :) I am sure the alps are gorgeous.. I am going to do some research. Must be amazing to live in that area. :D

yes it is a very beautiful area to live between the city and the countryside it is rare

I just post a picture of the view of the alps of my home

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

wow,your post is amazing...l just followed you and definitely going tohave a daily read of your post ...keep doing more with great love @polebird ,upped

Thank you! That's so nice to hear, appreciate the compliment!

Congratulations @polebird, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2844 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $666.85. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thats amazing. Have you considered traveling around and yoga post there ? That will heal your soul.

Welcome to my blog :)

Yesss I do rather enjoy that! ๐Ÿ’•Thank you!

Damn those photographs look unreal Great !

Thank you!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ ๐Ÿ˜ƒ ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

nice!!! tell mom I said hi! LOL

Hahaha ok!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77