A Wednesday Walk Through Lotus Land @tatoodjay ... tell no one.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

A Wedneday Walk Through Lotus Land

IMG_5701 (2).jpg

There is a reason that Vancouver is often referred to as Lotus Land: first, La La Land was already taken; second, we are the birth place of Lulu Lemon Yoga Pants; and third, if you know where to go there are la-la-lots of lotuses ... or loti if you prefer and your over-priced sweat pants haven't delivered enough pretentiousness for you.

So are you ready to enter a Monet painting? I know I am. But first a walk through the forest of Stanley Park is in order. Yep, all the good stuff is hidden in the trees; that and all the lame geo-cache finds. You gotta get there early; the gnomes go first.

IMG_5683 (1).jpg

If you can find the Rose Garden, then you can also find the path that will lead you to Beaver Lake. And yes, there are some beavers there, but they are somewhat elusive and easily angered, so count yourself lucky to have seen or missed them. Beavers are ferocious ... no really, they are ... and this is the land they guard.

IMG_5689 (2).jpg

Beaver Lake has a circumference of 1 km and if you time you visit right, about 80 percent of its area will be blooming with lotus. You cannot imagine a more dreamy and beautiful place.Don't tell anyone.

IMG_5686 (1).jpg

The frogs were croaking away for a mate when we were there, but they all managed to stay out of sight and I looked. It might have been Memorex.

IMG_5700 (1).jpg

There were also some gorgeous irises or irisi rimming the lake.

IMG_5696 (1).jpg

Here is a close-up that will probably inspire a haiku later on in the week.

IMG_5702 (1).jpg

That was my Wednesday Walk taken two weeks ago. If you ever come to Vancouver make sure a trip to Beaver Lake is part of it, but tell no one of its existence. If Disney Land or Vegas has a knock-off exhibit next year; me, the frogs, and oh yes, the beavers, will be coming for you. There won't be a dam place you can hide. And I dare you to lodge a complaint.

All photos and words are my own.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing this. I do hope that I make it to Vancouver again in the future!

Thank you, kus-knee. Vancouver welcomes a return:)

What a beautiful place you live in, Pryde! Guess I'll have to visit Lotus Land Vancouver some day! 😃
Have a great day, you and your loved ones!

Thank you, Patrick. Love when you pop in:)

Me and my yoga pants won't breathe a word! I swear!

I love your Wednesday walk! What an incredibly gorgeous Lake the Beaver have. :) I have been to Vancourver, but, obviously did not have the skinny on it.

Return is inevitable!Thank you!

We are also have cruise ships ...:):):)

We have the cruise ships aren't the only way to get around but I'll take that into consideration.

All I know is you always travel in style:)

Wow what a beautiful area and so many Lotuses
Thanks for taking us along with you

Tip!

Thanks so much for hosting the challenge:)

my Pleasure :)

It, really, is like a Monet painting! Thanks, for the Beauty & the humor 😜

Thank you, Yahia:)

Absolutely beautiful prydefoltz. I love getting out in nature to find the miraculous, the transcendental and quiet flow of life. We don't have anything like this where I'm from, well not unless you drive for hours. Looks like heaven :-)

Thanks, Raj:) It is certainly how I might imagine heaven. It really is an amazing place:)

Hm, something went wrong with the comment, but I think I`ve managed to send the tip ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85