Market Friday @dswigle, You Say Tomahto; I Say Baysil Let's Window Shop at Whole Foods

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I Say Tomahto; you say Baysil; Let's Window Shop at Whole Foods

Market Friday has me once again at Whole Foods. Most things are a tad on the pricey side and one must be a very choosy shopper but they do make sure fistfuls of beauty greet every shopper ... and for free, free to look, a kidney to buy. Loved the color scheme on these arrangements.

IMG_5577.jpg

Featuring tomatoes once again. These beauts are local and some are heirlooms. Hate to think what that hope chest must smell like after a month or two.

IMG_5731.jpg

Here is a close up of the loose ones on the table and a chance for me to be photoarty.

IMG_5732 (1).jpg

I might be working out too much or do these tomats look like they are doing stomach crunches.

Tomatoes are in season and local and so is the baysil or bahsil depending on your level of sophistication and willingness to go through life alone. Either way, keep your nose in the air because these leaves smelled heavenly.

IMG_5579 (1).jpg

All photos and words are my own.

Sort:  

Those tomatoes look a lot different from the ones we get here but the photos are really beautiful.

Those are the heirloom variety ... super fancy. I don't think that many people eat them but they are nice to look at:)

I love Whole Foods. We never shop there, though. As you say, it’s just too expensive. They’re claiming their “partnership” with Amazon will bring costs down.

We shall see.

I love tomato season and basil season. We try to grow basil every year, but end up harvesting it to death before it can get established. We’re already on the second plant this year – LOL. It’s still cheaper than buying batches of basil. By “a batch,” I mean a packet (about 6 ounces) that is enough to make about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of pesto when it’s all said and done. That is less than half what we get from a live plant before we’ve harvested it to death for roughly the same price – about $6.

As for tomatoes and a wide variety of other fruits and vegetables, well, we live in a farming community. Most of the farmers have their own market stalls on the edges of their properties, or set up roadside stalls for their wares. No grocery store can compete for the either the price or the quality this time of year right up into the Autumn. The only drawback is that they usually accept only cash. Who carries cash anymore?

Indeed ... maybe you could convince them to accept steem:)

LOL – NBL. However, supposedly we’ll be able to order through Amazon, with our Amazon accounts and Prime discounts.

They were pretty, weren't they:)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Yum, I love fresh food. :D

Thanks, Debra)

I like tomatoes...the ugly ones...and the smell.

Thanks, Moon:)

Well I cant say Ive ever been in a Whole Foods. Heck they probably would not even let me in, and thats ok coz I dont think I would give a nickle for them tomaters...they just dont look right to me and I am no tomato fan to begin with lol.

WF would be lucky to have you:)

I do love Whole Foods! They were my Go-To Grocery Store when I didn't have any farm stands available to me.

They are pricey, but I save because I don't buy junk. Junk is expensive!

Tomatoes look ummm very fit. Lol

Thanks for takibg part in Market Friday!

Upped and steemed

Tip!

Thank you, Denise:):):)

You're awesome! Thank YOU!

Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05