Otway black snail. Seen in Victoria - Australia

in #photography6 years ago

_DSC2350.jpg

It was Great Ocean Road day! We left Melbourne early in the morning and (honestly) I was only on that tour to see the Twelve Apostles. After driving myself and my motorhome from Sydney to Cairns, I was relieved to not have to drive myself! I was sitting back, relaxed and... I'll tell the story of what happened during that tour in another post.

At some point, the driver wanted to show us the rainforest. After spending several days in the rainforest near Cairns, I wasn't too interested. But staying inside the bus would be even more boring. He asked us to look out for a black snail. Not explaining why, how and where.

Just when we started asking questions about the snail, we miraculously stumbled upon one: The Otway Black Snail. Apparently, an endangered species that can only be found in Victoria, Australia.

What makes this snail so special is that it is a carnivore. It eats snails, slugs, worms and larvae... Can you imagine that this snail actually has teeth? I asked it to smile for the camera and show the teeth, but as you can see, the snail was a little shy and turned away...

Sort:  

Beautiful picture! :)

Shy snails. THAT's what is truly special about 'em.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84