MY TAKE ON CONTAINER FOOD GROWING.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)
I do not always have a chance to do a post during the week. Last week I did two short ones using Partiko App. Today, so I can finish quicker, I am using the PC.


I have had a number of people inquire about container growing food. Lately someone asked me about hydroponics. I am far from an expert on hydroponics, but grow some food indoors during the winter hydroponically. I will eventually do a post on my basic method of hydroponics. I am covering container growing because that is what I am currently working on and have used this method for over 40 years. I also have learned to combine some hydroponic with soil grown plants in containers.

Sorry no flowers this post, except for a blossom.

The number one benefit of using containers and dirt/potting mix is the cost. I have people give me all different size pots. But I have found old tubs and pails that were being thrown out that I used as well. I think it was last year that I saw a post on steemit that got pretty creative with his container growing. If it holds dirt or potting soil and is a size that fits the size of a full grown plant then use it.

It is too cold to plant much outside where I am at. I am going to show you some cucumber plants that I grew in 3 inch (7.62 cm) pots before transplanting them to 2 gallon (7.57 liters) pots. They had fruit on them before I moved them outside into a small heating greenhouse. Those living in warm climates do not have to worry having things indoors, a nice sunny location can do.

You will see I have the potted cucumber plants set inside trays to hold water. I use mostly water but periodically I had hydroponic solution because of the needed fertilizer. These plants will need more and more water and fertilizer as the vines grow and fruit production continues. I will try and do an updated post as the plants I show here continue to grow.

So here are a couple of photographs of current cucumber plants. Also this is early April and around here and growing out in my garden I usually do not see fresh cucumbers July if the weather is good. Some are not my best photography due to the light in greenhouse. The variety of cucumbers I am growing are self pollinating.

IMG_4260-S.JPG

IMG_4257-S.JPG

IMG_4262-S.JPG

I thought I would include a squash called Zucchini, which is a "summer squash). I have two larger pots but this is the only one that is just coming through the soil. These plants get much larger than cucumbers, so they need even a larger water holding container.

IMG_4255-S.JPG

Next I am showing you my tomato set-up, again set inside a tray that will hold water for later in the season. Like cucumbers if planted in garden you will not see fresh tomatoes until late July. Many varieties may not ripen until August. These hopefully will provide fresh fruit in late May.

IMG_4263-S.JPG

IMG_4264-S.JPG

Most years my tomatoes are larger by now, but I am just happy I have them planted. I will periodically take photographs as to the progression of growth for these plants. I will also be planting addition vegetables in containers, and will share them. I will be growing broccoli, Cauliflower, and even cabbage in pots. I plan on growing many of my greens this way.

I am using an organic potting mix, but have used garden soil as well to save money. Growing in pots with dirt/potting soil is easier to work with and is much lower in cost. I know I have seen others sharing their methods of growing in containers. Recently I saw a series of photos on steemit that was part of a school project, but never thought of saving the link. I believe that we should grow what we are able to supplement what we have to by. With experience you can expand.

In the event anyone who knows of a user or a post that covers this topic I want you to feel free to share it.

Seeing this post is about growing food I want to share the latest post from @aid.venezuela:

https://steemit.com/aidvenezuela/@aid.venezuela/aidvenezuelawhydelegatetous-ubg2fvqojg

https://steemit.com/aidvenezuela/@aid.venezuela/aidvenezuelaporqudelegaralproyecto-rbrf4j7tlb

Please review this post and others as well that @aid.venezuela posts. I have seen names I recognize that donated to the Fundition porgram: https://fundition.io/#!/@aid.venezuela/30wfgrql0/backers

In the event there are any questions I will watch for them in the comments. Be patient for a response I am dealing with a household where everyone has influenza...I am still standing and hope to avoid it. But it is taking a lot of my time keeping the messes cleaned up, etc.

I am using a Canon EOS Rebel T5 for all of these photographs, except where noted.

NAMASTE

end of post graphic.png

1.png

Sort:  

I like your growing

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much.

Cool shot, benefit plant and wonderful word. How can I say again about this post. Two thumb up sir @r2cornell. I like to plant a simple plant like chili and other around my house in the past.

[it's me with my plant]

FB_IMG_1518279046024.jpg

BtwThe most important is I know you old but still creative and active. Please share to us how the tips as a lesson for us To follow :)

Blessing :)

Thank you. I am really not old, i just look that way. 😉 thank you for sharing this photo. Some years i grow all my chilis in containers.

It it is good to see others growing in containers and to share with all of us. Hopefully this will expand as i do additional post for this. The more people can grow some of their own food, even with limited space the better off they will be.

Great work sir. is really look photography
@r2cornell

Thank you.

I also grow plants, but I plant the seeds in containers in early March and as soon as the weather becomes warm, I plant seedlings in the ground in the garden
SAM_1113.JPG

These are tomatoes and peppers.

I do the many starts for the garden as well. Because of our cold nights most of the Summer I have another greenhouse That I do not heat that I plant tomato and pepper plants in the ground. It increases my production.

Starting seedlings like you do is the way to go. Whether they are planted in garden or in containers it works best.

For those with limited space container grows does best.

Thank you for sharing @magnata!

this really good working. hope somebody also inspire and try it. thanks to share this.

Posted using Partiko Android

How about the sunlight there? I am always curious about how plants can still grow with minimal sunlight.

it's always great things to be able to grow food in garden. But most in my garden are herbs and spices

Posted using Partiko Android

In doors during the winter I have to use artificial lights. Once I start using greenhouse I usually rely on the sun. Even on cloudy days sun's benefit comes through. As we get into summer we get little rain. last year was 90 days between rain. Plenty of sun, but watering is necessary.

How much time do you devote to gardening in a single day ?

That depends on the time of year. In winter, indoors, less than an hour. As I get my starts and vegetables growing in small greenhouse it steadily picks up. During that same time I also must begin cleaning up flower beds and preparing main garden for planting. Then it can be a couple hours a day. Throughout the summer there is keeping everything watered and weeded...so even more time.

Hast du ein Rezept für deine Gurken? Legst du sie ein?

In dieser frühen Zeit esse ich sie meist roh. In einem Salat, in einer Sandwiches oder als Beilage (nur mit einem Hauch Salz). Ich habe einen Gurkensalat mit süßen Chilis, süßen Zwiebeln, natürlich Gurken und etwas Reisessig gemacht.

Später in der Saison freue ich mich darauf, sie in einer Salzwassersole zu gären. Der Fermentationsprozess ist wie Saurkraut. Sie sind normalerweise in 4 - 6 Tagen verzehrfertig.

Vielen Dank. Hört sich interessant an. Werde ich mal ausprobieren.

Really these pictures are awesome. It took great effort to grow plants in indoor. Really you are very hardworking.
Great Job

Thank you very much.

Thank you for teaching us about growing food!! @r2cornell

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87