WINTER IS A TIME TO ENJOY FLOWERS AND GROWING GREENS INDOORS!

in #photography5 years ago
I decided to post here on Steemit first this weekend, and hope to post on Weku tomorrow. I usually try to do Weku on Friday but I had a couple of days that I was not feeling well (probably stress). In view of how I had been feeling I could get myself to anything but work with my indoor gardening. It allowed me to rest my mind a little.



My wife started Physical Therapy yesterday to work on gaining strength and work on her balance. The changes with her blood pressure medications seem to have done the trick. Her numbers are better and she is less weak. On Monday she sees the hematologist (blood doctor). We already know that they also deal with cancer and that is the fear with her bone marrow issues. We were happy that we could get an appointment quickly. I would rather know what is going on that to sit around and worry about it.

Enough of that.

I found a great app for my Android phone. It is called PlantSnap. It allows me to take a photo of a flower or plant that I am not sure what it is and the app comes up with the answer. I even used it to take a PlantSnap of a photo and it told me what it was. I am excited about the possibilities.

This week I have some flowers and some photos of what I am growing under lights in my plant room. I have 3 hydroponic units set up and planted and plant to do the 4th this weekend. I also am planting some larger "crops" in pots with potting soil. In addition to that I found a book that introduced me to "soil -sprouted greens". It combines growing sprouts, micro-greens and planting in the soil. I have a couple of photos of my first try at it. I have more coming and different greens.

I know everyone likes it when I start out with a rose. This rose is one I grow. I have had photos of it before but this is a different look at it.

6.2017 103-S.JPG

Now that I have your attention I will upload photos of my hydroponics and some of my soil-spouted greens. Over the next couple of weeks I will show more of my indoor gardening. I think the next time I will cut back on my grow lights before snapping a picture. The lights were a little to bright and did not allow for a really nice photo.

These first two are hydroponics units I pout together out of storage containers (Sterilite 10 Gal Stacker Tote, Black). I have a tool to cut holes in the lid and then use Hydroponic/Orchid Slotted Net Pot to plant the seedlings. The first one is a type of Chinese cabbage(two different varieties of Choy) and the second photo is bib lettuce- (I have 2 units of the Choy and two week intervals and I am getting ready for my second unit of lettuce:

IMG_4032-s.JPG

IMG_4031-s.JPG

This next one is my first try and the soil-sprouted greens. This is buckwheat (a grain) and when eating the young greens it is called buckwheat lettuce. I have already been eating some so the back part of tray shows some stubble. I planted the seeds on the top of the soil and kept it moist. The book says to soak them overnight, but I have grown them before, although I covered the seed with potting soil. This time I left the seeds on top of the soil.

IMG_4036-s.JPG

This next photo is pea shoots. They are planted thick and when they get 4 or 5 inches you clip them off and chop them up in a salad. They taste like fresh peas.

IMG_4035-s.JPG

Now back to some flower photographs. Next up is a Marigold. My Plant Snap referred to it as a Mexican Marigold.

IMG_1136-s.JPG

Finally here is a gorgeous flower that had come up in a flower bed planted with a packet of wildflower seeds. I used my PlantSnap app and it says it is Golden tickseed (Coreopsis). As soon as I saw Coreopsis I recognized immediately.

IMG_3018-s.JPG

That brings us to a close for the week. I will be adding more photos of my adventure at indoor gardening. I have not done much of this the past couple of years, but now that I am home more I can squeeze some time in. I already starting eating some greens but there has not been enough for a salad. When it gets going good I will have the option of 3 salads a day. My favorite time for a large salad is for breakfast.

I am using a Canon EOS Rebel T5 for all of these photographs, except where noted.

Upvotes and resteem are always welcome. In the event anyone wants to use one of my photos please ask and give me credit.

REMEMBER SPAM AND PLAGIARISM WILL LEAD TO MUTING. I added this last week because I had to mute someone for plagiarism. Please do not use what someone else has left as a comment. I do not like flagging people, but I have a long list of those that have been muted. I get a lot of comments and try to upvote them all, and it is not fair to those who left a comment or even a photo to use their words, nor is it fair to the Steemit platform. People work hard here so use your own words please.

NAMASTE

I am using a Canon EOS Rebel T5 for all of these photographs, except where noted.

Upvotes and resteem are always welcome. In the event anyone wants to use one of my photos please ask and give me credit.

REMEMBER SPAM AND PLAGIARISM WILL LEAD TO MUTING. I added this last week because I had to mute someone for plagiarism. Please do not use what someone else has left as a comment. I do not like flagging people, but I have a long list of those that have been muted. I get a lot of comments and try to upvote them all, and it is not fair to those who left a comment or even a photo to use their words, nor is it fair to the Steemit platform. People work hard here so use your own words please.

NAMASTE

end of post graphic.png

1.png

Sort:  

I hope your wife will well soon...Dnt worry.
Also your all plant photography really looking awesome thanks a lot for sharing. with us your specail work and your works..
Have a nice day..♥♥♥

Welcome have a nice day...
♥♥♥

Thank you very much. I appreciate it

welcome...
HAVE a nice day...
♥♥♥♥

@r2cornell Such wonderfully magnificent and truly marvelous captures. The real side of nature, I believe, lies in these so very beautiful flowers and yet we really don't understand what "Being with Nature" literally means.
I absolutely believe in...Love Nature...Live with nature...protect and preserve. That really makes life more beautiful and worth!

Best Regards!

@nainaztengra Thank you so much... Nainaz, for this kind gesture! Truly obliged !:)

||BEST||

Thank you very much. I appreciate it.

I see your all photography, because you are a great photographer sir. i love photography

Thank you very much.

Magnificent blossoms. I also create them in the country, yet truth be told I have hypersensitivities from blossoms.

Thank you very much. Welcome to my blog.

Nice pictures . The rose is beautiful, I bred the same roses, but that winter they froze, although I covered them. Thank you for sharing. Health to you and your family

Thank you very much.

I can't wait for the sprint to come to see all those beautiful stuff

Thank you very much for visiting. I too look forward to Spring. In the meantime I will grow my greens indoors. Hopefully late February I will start the heater in my small greenhouse.

Those are such a great photos , have a good weekend everybody

Thank you very much.

Wonderful work and enjoy is nature flowers . it is really look mix color. that is great photography.
Thanks this post .
Have a great day.

Thank you very much.

Wow very very fantastic photography. thanks for sharing. nice pink color.

Thank you very much.

Happy Sunday sir. You are right that Winter is a time to flowers and growing greens. We get many vegetables in Winter. I always love your photography. You are a great man. I love and respect you.

Thank you very much. I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81