30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 2 - The "Harry Potter Trees"

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_6390.JPG

Whenever we find something that is a bit odd or peculiar - like these weirdly shaped trees in the Turia park - we tend to find something familiar to match it with. We need some kind of category or tag to put that weird thing into a mental drawer.

When we first saw these trees in the park me and @dragosroua were pretty fascinated by their shape. And because we didn't know their official name - we still don't know it - we named them the Harry Potter trees. Their weirdness seemed like something from a Harry Potter movie to us.

Naming a particular area of a park or a city in a certain way that only you and your partner or close friends are familiar with helps a lot in giving each other relevant information when trying to explain where one is or where to meet for example.

Like yesterday I was in the park, talking with Dragos on the phone. We were supposed to meet and go grab something to eat. In order to figure out how far I was from the coffee shop he was working in, he asked me where exactly I was in the Turia park. Because I didn't learn yet the name of the bridges, it was very easy for me to say "close to the Harry Potter trees" and he immediately understood and knew where I was.

That's the beauty of creating a "language" of your own with your significant other or close friends. You can use references that have meaning only for yourselves and you spare a lot of unnecessary extra words.

Do you give unique names to streets, park alleys or other places in your town? If so, please share in the comments below.

Namaste


This article is part of the 30 Days Challenge Photos of Valencia. You can check out the previous posts here:

30 Days Challenge - Photos of Valencia - Day 1 - Goodbye and hello


Hatha Yoga 200H teacher. Copywriter. Human Design Projector. My educational background is in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.

Raluca

Sort:  

not only references but sometimes it only takes 2 or 3 words, theyll utter an incomplete and incoherent sentence, but you can fully understand them😂

haven't seen any oddly shaped trees such as this before, very interesting.. thanks for sharing:)

true that 😂
thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28