What is even photography?

One has to stop and wonder...what is the point of photography now? Why even take a photo?

I often think that a photography is a personal collection that could resonate with others. An intimate way to give yourself away while hoarding moments. But this is problematic, because is that photo mine to take, really?

I see someone dressed nicely...I want to take a photo of them. But what's the value? I'm sure they already have a ton of selfies and whoever sees them, see them. What's the value of the photo beyond making ME look interesting.
I don't want that.

It's a little minduck but it passes.

Take this photo for example.
This girl was a sight, somehow she just stood out of the crowd. She had an elegant way of moving and an edgy outfit in the middle of the day. I wanted to capture this. Did I make it?
So an so. But also, was it mine to capture?
In a way: yes, cause I've been there.
In other way: why? So I can get an extra like?

I think that ultimately, maybe the best way to go about photos is to never show them to anyone...

Sort:  

Photography is so much fun @razvenelulmarin and I like what you are doing. Yes, do share them.

What can be most disappointing or has been in the past until I grew up and said oh this is the internet blog Steemit is to post a photo that you put a lot of time and great equipment into. I don't do that anymore.

Because it could be passed over. I do what most people do and use phone photos. A great photo is not best viewed over the internet anyway. Disclaimer: if I want I will post one I value a lot.

I think you are doing something really creative. Keep it up!

I am not trying to discourage anyone from posting any photo taken by any camera .. quite the opposite but we do have to realize where we are posting.

Thanks for the encouragement!
I am not sure what you mean by "a great photo is not best viewed over the internet". Do you mean it should be printed?

Right. We really only see some pixels on our phones or pcs here. Print is best. I like your work.

I'm sure they already have a ton of selfies

Not necessarily. And a serious photo is different from a selfie, don't you think? Take it for posterity, because by this logic, no one would ever take any pictures and that would be kinda sad...

Haha.That's honestly the absolute truth!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85