Fantasy Orchids - Miltonia Breathless Beauty

in #photography6 years ago

2018-Steemit-MikeBryantPhotography-Orchids-2.jpg

We have a wonderful orchid shop near our house. After living here for 15 years, I finally stopped by to get some flowers for my lovely wife.

I'll for sure be returning to buy more flowers, and I'll bring my camera along to take some photos of the beautiful plants in their greenhouse. They also offer plant boarding so that your plants don't die if you go on an extended vacation. I had no idea that service even existed.

Fantasy Orchids Website

Virtual tour of Fantasy Orchids on Google Maps


2018-Steemit-MikeBryantPhotography-Orchids-1.jpg
Variety: Miltonia Breathless Beauty


Camera: Nikon D850 50mm f/1.8


Rebele93-footer-clear.png

If you liked this post, please consider upvoting, following and resteeming!

Sort:  

what a photography!! i think it was a good click and good photography!

Wow! Stunning artistic photography
@rebele93. Nice content
Very well articulated

Thanks for sharing this post. ☺💙

How much do they charge for this plant sitting service?

I will ask next time I'm in there.

Orchids look so amazing because of your perfect clicks. I couldnt get the background, is it edited or it was night and you managed the lighting this way? So magical

Thanks. I use a lens with a low aperture (opening) . It gives me very short depth of field, thus blurring the ceiling in my home.

I tried low aperture before but the images were blurry. I guess you use a tripod? kind of long exposure photography right? cool pics

at f1.8, a lot of light gets to the sensor all at once, so you don't really need a long shutter speed. The background will naturally blur. However, this crates a very short focal length and thus not all of the flower is in peak focus. Both shots were captured without a tripod. As long as I keep my shutter speed faster than 1/60th of a second, I can shoot without much visible camera shake.

There is a process called focus-stacking, where multiple shots are taken of the same scene at different focal lengths, then combined to get an image that is 100% in focus.

In order to get the full flower in focus with just one shot, I'd need to increase my aperture, but doing this would not get me the nice creamy background (called bokeh).

That was a smart move to use focus-stacking, i checked this option in microscope before :) And, that is what i was wondering, i shall have to write down what you said and follow the steps. I really liked that shot. It has a feeling of some other world. Also, i have f1.8 but i didnt know i could snap such shots with that. Great talent you got mr rebele

Really amazing photoshot by @rebele93

That orchid is very beautiful, did you know that the orchid is the national flower of Venezuela?

Here in Venezuela you get orchids with purple color of various tones.

On purpose! I really liked the capture of the image. Excellent job, as always!

You just received a RockyMtnSteem Community dividend in the form of 0.01 SBD for being awesome! We suggest you spend this one by sending it to @steemitboardpool with the memo “worldcup2018” in order to get registered for the first Steemit World Cup Contest! These dividends were generated by selling @rockymtnsteem votes via smartsteem! If you like these community dividends, upvote this post to generate more which will be distributed evenly to the active community members!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87