Playing With The Camera: The 50mm And The Cat!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Have a great week, everyone!

Today I got you some shots while I was testing my 50mm lens. I've had it for a couple of months now, but only took very few pictures compared to my 18-55mm that has become my companion on the cool-bug hunting.

The weather was really good yesterday and for some strange reason I got up really early, so I could enjoy my morning coffee outside, bathed in the warm sun rays. I had an hour to relax before getting to work so I took my camera and started shooting with one of my favorite models:

My cat!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (2).JPG

She was enjoying the sunshine on the balcony...

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (3).JPG

And was so relaxed...

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (4).JPG

That she kept giving me poses!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (5).JPG

Yes, just like this one!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (6).JPG

And this one here!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (8).JPG

Look! She even brought some paws in the game!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (7).JPG

Looking at me indifferently...

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (9).JPG

Or shamelessly ignoring my presence!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (10).JPG

She is my superstar!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (1).JPG



Later on I walked around the garden to see what else I could shoot and Mrs I-ignore-your-very-existence followed me. Well, she does not ignore me (all the time), as she always comes close to me whenever I'm in the garden. It's funny how she comes and sits next to me when I shoot, she even comes to stick her nose on my lens from time to time.

Here are some shots of her with a different background.

A strict pose

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (13).JPG

Just like the reincarnation of Margaret Thatcher

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (14).JPG

Yeah, change the angle, darling, and be more feminine!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (11).JPG

Or maybe not (feminine-my-feline-ass)

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (12).JPG

And a close-up on those beautiful eyes!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (15).JPG

As our Sunday photoshoot ends - I love those whiskers and eyebrows(?) here sparkling under the sun!

ruth-girl_steemit_mycat (16).JPG

I like how this lens works. I am still new to all this, but I already feel more confident and somehow sure when I take my pictures. I want to work with landscapes and portraits in the future, but so far I really like insects and their macroworld.
I hope you liked this compilation, even though I had no bugs this time. I promise I'll bring new ones soon!



All images (not free for re-use) and story by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018

Can you spare another minute?

  1. @steemstem has now got a witness running, the @stem.witness! We would really appreciate your vote. And you can always check out our cool app, steemstem.io!

  2. @aristotle.team is the child of the Greek translation team (working for @davinci.witness and @utopian-io). We are launching a new app (@dimitrisp is on it!) to help us manage our workload and we have already set a curation trail to support Utopian contributions with the strength we currently have. Your follow, support and feedback is much appreciated!

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


ruth-girl signature gif banner.gif

Sort:  

Cats are so photogenic! Great shots and I too love my morning cup of coffee outside!!

Thanks! Cats of all sizes (I remember your tigers) make incredible models!! ☕

The cat's like Goddammit, leave me the freak alone! 😂

Ahahahaha! Yes! But I was a good paparazzi, I never forced her to pose, I promise! Cross my cat...ehm, heart!

Puuuur-fect! I can't decide which one is the best

Me neither! You were right about the 50mm, photos come out great and this 1.8F works wonders! I need to play more with it!

Beautiful cat! And awesome photos. I like the blurred background :)

Thanks! This lens does amazing things (I only need to figure out how to take advantage of its full potential)

αξιολατρευτη ειναι...κουκλιτσα...ειδικα εκει που βγαζει τη γλωσσιτσα της....το πουλακι μου χαρμα ειναι

Ναι, η χνουδόμπαλά μου! Δεν ξέρω τι έπαθε κι έκατσε να τη φωτογραφίσω, συνήθως μου χώνει τη μουσούδα πάνω στον φακό 🤣

πριγκίπισσα η γατα!!!!!

Μην το συζητάς!

Hi @ruth-girl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.092 which ranks you at #952 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 26 places in the last three days (old rank 978).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85