Jungle Cooking - Mangoes

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

82293A64-EECA-4354-B1AB-2BCD6EAFA78C.jpeg

Mangoes are one of my favourite fruit. Just the other day a local lad stopped me on my way to the beach and asked if I needed fruit or coconuts. I asked if the mangoes were ripe yet and he excitedly told me he had loads of them! I told him to find me on the beach as I was off to take photos.

Within half an hour he appeared with two carrier bags full of small half ripe fruit. They weighed about five kilos to my estimation and he charged me 3000 colones, which is just over 5 US dollars. It felt a long walk home with them in the heat up a steep hill but I was pleased to have them. I already had 10 large mangoes at home already waiting to ripen. It was beginning to look like a fruit shop outside my door!

02505C92-65B3-4D95-8517-F51116250739.jpeg

I left them for one day to ripen a little more then I had to make a decision what to do with them. I had being given some interesting ideas from @cecicastor who has plenty of mango experience including Mango Brandy which sounded AMAZING but I had very few ingredients and needed to make a snap decision otherwise I would have a big bag of ants and squishy mangoes on the doorstep which would have ended up in my compost pile.

I found the biggest saucepan in the house and started peeling the little mangoes. They are a little slippery to deal with and they were a little dirty on the outside so between rinsing each one carefully and peeling their slippery skins off, the process took a fair while!

They filled the pan right to the rim, the last two just wouldn’t squeeze inso I ate themthere and then. The flavor was supreme and the sweetness perfect. I knew I wouldn’t need to add any sweetening to the cooking process. Sugar free is always my ideal and natures sweetness is always the best. I poured just enough water into the pan to cover the fruit and set them on the stove to cook, simmering for about an hour and a half .

D0A1C08E-A370-4555-B140-97778DAE0693.jpeg

After ninety minutes the liquid had reduced and the mango level had subsided by a good six inches down the pan so I guessed this would do. I am rather a free style type in the kitchen. For example I make bread, but never measure ingredients but have eyed it to perfection and my bread is superb, though I do say it myself ( the smell of my onion herb bread cooking yesterday was ridiculously good!!)

when the mangoes were cool enough to handle I squeezed them in my hands which quickly and easily removed all the flesh. I was left with a big pile of mango seeds and a saucepan full of thick mango purée

D3FDBE6C-D0EE-478B-9C89-436EB27504C1.jpeg

It tasted so intensely of mango and perfectly sweet so I thought I would just freeze it to make a delicious sorbet. If you had ice lolly (popsicle) moulds it would make great treats for children.

24 hours later it was ready. A perfect scoopable consistency and the perfect refreshing desert for this super hot climate.. what could be simpler or more delicious, or a more amazing colour? I must point out there is no colour enhancement on this photo, they really are this orangey.

Just Mangoes

82293A64-EECA-4354-B1AB-2BCD6EAFA78C.jpeg

Namaste

Our lives become beautiful not because we are perfect but because we put our heart into what we do.

Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev

                Jungle Divider designed by Steemit graphic artist @magiccleatus

Sort:  

What an amazing idea! Fresh ripe mangoes are the most delicious thing ever. The mini mangoes are unreal when it comes to taste and sweetness. But I bet that sorbet tastes delicious, I want some so much! I’m in China at the moment and the mangoes out here are incredible, I’ve never hand mangoes (and mostly mini mangoes) that are so sweet!

Thanks so much for stopping by. I am glad you like the recipe idea. I have never been to China but super happy to hear you have great mangoes there too! Have an awesome fruity day 💛

Thanks very much and I wish you a fruity day! My day had been filled with lots of fresh lychees:) so delicious straight from the tree I can’t stop eating them hehe

OMG awesome I have those too here, but not quite inseason at this moment. Two types one yellowish and one pinkish colour. I love them both and yes I know what you mean, I eat through bowlfuls of them too 😍

Wow! that looks so delicious... and incredibly healthy!

upvoted and resteemed :D

Thanks very much for your lovely comment and support. I REALLY appreciate those resteems 💛

Thank you very much for such a good idea!
You have solved my problem with what to do with my mangoes in the garden!!
So, this is how you make mango sorbet!!

So you boil the mangoes with their seeds!?

I would like to have your recipe for home made breads too!! You are so full of surprises!!

Cheers.

Excellent , yes just wash and peel off the skins and cook whole. After cooking you squeeze then tight to remove the flesh 😉

Es una de mis frutas favoritas, hayvariedades y son muy dulces tienen grandes cantidades de vitaminas, y se le puede consumir fresca, en jugo, galeas, dulce en fin todo un manjar.

This post has received a 11.09 % upvote from @boomerang.

This post has received a 2.99 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sallybeth23.

Everything looks so delicious!! Thanks for sharing with us @sallybeth23 !!

Thanks very much for stopping by 💛🌈🌴🦋

As I have already said in other comments, when they talk about mangoes and present recipes with them, they fascinate me, I love them, I love mangoes, in all their presentations, very good recipe.

Thanks very much for stopping by.

Mangoes are my favorite fruit too! But I don't have access to as delicious ones as you can get! Lucky you! I would love to be in Costa Rica to try your sorbet :) Looks very good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73