Jungle Daily - New Discoveries and Old Aquaintancies.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I came across these strange hairy protrusions in some leaves this morning, They are tiny things just a cm or two long and very hairy. At first I thought they were tiny catapillars drilling holes in the leaves. Then I quickly realized they were not moving and were hard to the touch not soft body like at all.

28119838-6167-4E8D-85D0-3A7865CA61B4.jpeg

I took these photos to get a better look. They are a mystery to me so if anyone has any ideas or knows what they are please let me know.

21DAF76A-9DA6-4369-82FE-BB0A7526890C.jpeg

2E2A0A1F-65BE-41BE-8AC4-739818C06C84.jpeg

88EB83C0-3C2D-4065-BE94-39C01AB72293.jpeg

This is a large bees nest. It measures around 50 cm across the bottom and is high up in a palm tree. The design is quite amazing and the work involved just staggering!

49A553BF-233F-4D44-9B11-3FECF337E725.jpeg

This photo below is a small creature that carries a soft cotton like ball on its back. I have seen them before here with different looking bundles or other colours. They seem to collect a nest and carry it around with them. The insect itself is so tiny one can just now and again catch sight of it’s body. Ant like is the best description I can give as they are hidden almost completely below with just a foot to be seen seen occasionally as they run around carrying these strange bundles above them.

3DC3D41E-D6BA-4159-A4F1-C8F2FD38899B.jpeg

6D25CDDB-5D8D-4875-B11D-06C3AC436FDC.jpeg

This gecko loves to hang out on the lid of my honey bottle where he licks off tiny ants who come to steal the honey from the top if I spill it occasionally.Ants dipped in honey must be quite a delicacy.

009C3DC1-025A-4FCF-816B-BF118FB88844.jpeg

All photos of my jungle blog are taken by myself. These were taken using my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS

Namaste

Do not seek love. Be Love.

Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev

C3A77F1A-EF61-4555-8A46-32B3859581CF.jpeg

Sort:  

5pectacular blog Sally! New and very cool jungle critters there 🐜💙💚 Awesome documentations. I really enjoy following your blog! What a sweetie little gecko guy! So many unique life forms in the jungle. Namaste Sweet Sister 🌹 Dulces sueños ✌

Thanks very much for your fabulous comment. Sending you love from the jungle ❤️🌈💛🌴🦋

Great photography!

wow..so nice capture..

please stop upvoting yourself like this on my posts. It does not look good. I will not give you upvotes while you continue.

Thank you for understanding

I like your all content because your content type and quality is so good. and informational
thank you for shearing

thank you very much for your support.

This comment has received a 0.40 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @junedd.

These are great! I like the sheer variety of animals, but the gecko just chilling on your honey bottle takes the cake!

Thanks very much. He is a pretty cool gecko isn’t he 🤣💛🦋🌴🌈

Thanks again for these mini-vacations! Those hairy leaf warts are pretty cool looking, like something from a Dr Seuss book

Thank you for stopping by 🌈🌴💛🦋

They are really beautiful photos, interesting about the leaves, I do not know what it is, I love the gecko, I love you look at those little details and take photos, hugs

muchas gracias amiga mia Estos son comentarios encantadores. Abrazos para ti también 🌈💛🦋🌴☀️

Wow - what a wonderful selection of creatures and plants!
I LOVE your miniature gecko. As for those strange things that grow out of the leaves in the first four pics - VERY interesting - I hope someone can tell us all what they are!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thanks very much for your support. 🌈💛🌴🦋☀️

I think (but not sure) those structures are called trichomes, think of it like plant hair :) Trichomes can have lots of different functions, such as defense against parasites for instance, and look very different from species to species. But if those are trichomes, never seen them so sparcely located on a leaf! Curious photo!

Interesting thought Thanks. 🌈🌴🦋💛

New Discoveries are awesome as old ones too not bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06