Let's talk about my photography equipment...

in #photography5 years ago

My camera gear

“The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it.”
Ansel Adams-

"What camera do you have?"
This is probably the most asked question I get, when I tell people that photography is my hobby. I own a pretty old but decent entry level camera - the Canon Eos 400d (it is called Canon EOS Rebel XTi in North America). It is a used camera I bought from a friend around 8 years ago. I gave him 200 euros back then. He gave me the body and two lenses (the Canon 18-55mm kit lense and a crappy Canon 28-80mm zoom lense). I didn't know back then, if I would continue pursuing photography so I didn't want to spend a lot of money.

After a while I thought I need to buy a better camera, so I started to study camera specs, but in the process I learned more about photography. I found out that's not the camera that makes better picture - it is you. I decided to expand my skills before getting a new camera. I wanted to reach the full potential of the 400d. I bought three more lenses (all from Canon) to improve my photography skills: a used 75-300mm zoom lense (bought it for 40 euros), a 10-18mm super wide lense and my favorite one - the 50mm 1.8 prime lense (I will dedicate a whole post about my
experience with this lense in the future).

And this is the camera gear I have been using for 3 years now. I still consider myself a beginner and student of the art and this is why I didn't upgrade my equipment, yet.

I think you don't need the most expensive gear to start with photography, just practice and improve your skills...go out and shoot.

Peter Mckinnon released a video about shooting good pictures with a cheap camera a couple of days ago. It's pretty encouraging - check it out:


I took the picture of my camera gear with my Samsung Galaxy S9+. I edited it with Snapseed. (I think will write about my mobile photography in the future)


Check out my Instagram Feed for more pictures

Sort:  

Congratulations @schanzerx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @schanzerx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00