3 New Emerald Bay Sunrise Photos - Which Is Your Favorite?

in #photography5 years ago

Emerald Bay is one of the best spots on Lake Tahoe for photos. I've shot there many times over the years and there is almost always other photographers out there too. Eagle Falls is above Emerald Bay and flows into the bay, the falls provide some incredible photo opportunities. These photos were shot at the top of the falls, this view looks to the northeast so it is a great spot for sunrise photography.

I like all of these new shots but I'm curious, which of the three photos do you like best?


click images to view larger
_Q1A5224.jpg
#1 - This one is probably my favorite. I love how pink the clouds got. Two graduated neutral density filters were used on the lens in order to darken the sky and balance out the exposure with the foreground. A 13-second long exposure was used in order to get a soft flowing look to the falls on the right.

_Q1A5188.jpg
#2 - This was shot a little earlier than the first photo. A headlamp was used to light up the icy foreground. No lens filters were used.

_Q1A5222.jpg
#3 - The vertical shot. I also always try to shoot a vertical photo for the publications I license images to. Future cover shot???

I posted a dtube video about this little photo adventure yesterday, in case you missed it, you can view it HERE.


I hope you are all having a great and photogenic weekend. Thank you for looking, reading, and watching. Cheers!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Oh I love number two @scottshots!!
Those deep blues of the sky and what
is going on on the lake is outstanding!!

Cool! Glad you like that one @shasta! Yes, the reflection on the lake was looking great. Cheers!

Thank you! Glad you like the photos. Cheers!

Thank you @magnata! Sunrise is a great time of day at Emerald Bay. Cheers!

Thank you @aleks433! I appreciate the kind words and glad you like the photos. Cheers!

Thank you @serkagan! Glad you like the scenery.

@scottshots. All exceptional, however my eyes gravitate to #2. The deep blue skies, pink clouds, bright ice and evergreens. that is somewhat of an oxymoron with the summer like sunset in the background up against the winter mountains.

Thanks for letting me know your favorite @armentor! Yes, a headlamp can really brighten up that ice. And the contrasting warm colors of the sunrise against and the cool ice is a lot of fun. Cheers!

Lovely pictures, as always!
Favorite one, the first :)

Thank you @fotostef! Those pinks in the first one were pretty cool. Cheers!

Beautiful sunset and great landscape photography, thanks for sharing it with us

Posted using Partiko Android

It was an incredible moment in an incredible area. Thank you!

Hello brother it very beautiful place for visiting.Natural pictures all touching my heart I like it very much

Glad you like those @urme33! Definitely a great spot to get out and enjoy nature at. Cheers!

wow wow wow... spectacular...... i am going to be your big fan of your photography buddy... hahaha

Sweet! Thank you @priyanarc! Glad you like my work and I hope to get more photos for you to enjoy soon... Cheers!

will wait for update... cheers..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00