Scary Photo Adventure At The Old Abandoned Train Tunnels

in #photography5 years ago (edited)


Join me on my latest photo adventure where I have to walk through scary old abandoned train tunnels in order to get to a beautiful sunset scene above Donner Lake in Truckee, California.

Yesterday, the day after Halloween, I felt like scaring myself so I headed to one of the creepiest places in the area. The old abandoned train tunnels always make the hair on the back of my neck stand up, yesterday did not disappoint. I was also not disappointed by the incredible sunset we ended up having. A little bit of smoke in the air enhanced the sunset colors and I ended up with three "keeper" photos that can be seen in the video.

Question: This video is fairly long, about 23 minutes. Would you rather see one long video when I go big like this? Or would you rather see a part 1 and part 2 in order to break it up a bit?

Thank you for watching!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif




▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thank you @serkagan! The tunnels definitely added a different feeling to this video... Glad you like it and have a great weekend!

Wow you went way farther than I've gone. How was the landslide spot?

Yeah, all the way to the end, before it starts turning away from the lake. I thought we made it that far on the bikes back in the day but maybe not...
I actually shot video at the old landslide area but ended up editing it out. There was 45 minutes of footage initially lol. The landslide area is "fixed" now! Well, they were able to carve a dirt road down and back up to the other side. It made that section much easier. I hope you're getting to have some fun this weekend.

Lazy to go on Halloween? Right, right, we get it! Hhahha

That's the type of adventure I like, super cool, and the photo turned out amazingly.

Ok ok... I grabbed a beer Halloween evening and then I got lazy... haha! No. It's not because I was scared to go lol! Glad you liked that adventure. It was a fun one and yup, the keeper photo made it all worth it.

Bro hit me up when you do this again or give me the map location, I'm so down, im always up for a good experience like this thanks for the video indeed bro, seriously tho hit me up.... be well

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you liked that video, thank you @krazypoet! I live about 20 minutes from that spot so I'm often out getting photos in the area. If you're ever in Truckee, please feel free to let me know and hopefully we can meet up and hike that tunnel. Here's a google map with the parking area pinged.
https://goo.gl/maps/j38UMhamSZ62
Cheers!

There is a light at the end of the tunnel (4:34)

I doubt that.

But even if I'm wrong and it's there, some dickhead will probably just turn it off at the worst possible moment.

Free cuddles, that way! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAA!! (6:08)

Ha ha!

Yeah, it was Mother Nature who was the jerk that turned the light off, right after sunset...

Probably Pink the Ice Axe that wrote the "free cuddles"!

lol, I will ask Pinky if it was him. But he doesn't always tell the truth, you know. He's an Ice Axe.

Your face looks like your about to be a victim of the deep sewer, ;)

Uuum... That doesn't sound good. But yeah, I understand, I felt like I was going to be a victim in the cave...

That gavel walking at the end gave me PTSD of the game Slenderman: The 8 pages.

Hahaha! Happy to stir up some fear with that one lol. I hope it wasn't too scary... Cheers!

great adventure you have there.

Indeed it was @bboyady. This was a fun video to make. Cheers!

@scottshots, that is a great video! I am watching it speechless.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! Glad you liked this one too @cryptospa! This video was a lot of work to edit together but it was fun. Cheers!

very cool idea! followed and upvoted

Cool, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87