Wildflower Photos From A Nice Hike Today

in #photography5 years ago

20190810_171059.jpg

Got out for another nice hike today, to a spot I go to on a regular basis. Alder Creek is just a short walk down the street from my house. We had a very big winter this year so all the wildflowers seem to be a bit behind compared to when they usually bloom but there are TONS of flowers out there to be enjoyed. I was taking my time on my hike today and took a few photos of the flowers and scenery with my Samsung S10 cell phone.

20190810_153136.jpg

This spot along Alder Creek is a favorite spot to stop for a minute and enjoy the view. The creek is more of a pond here due to a beaver dam that you can see on the right, above. While there I saw this crawdad crawling around. If there were a lot more, I would catch them as they are delicious.

20190810_171004.jpg

Ok, now time for some of the wildflower photos. I have no idea what most of the flowers were that I saw, but I do know a few...

20190810_170221.jpg

Indian Paintbrush below. I have this growing in my yard but it is already all seeding there, with no flowers.

20190810_170123.jpg

Mule Ears, these grow all over the Tahoe area but most of them also have no flowers yet and most of the leaves are starting to die. It was nice to see a small patch of late bloomers.

20190810_170036.jpg

I believe this was Yarrow below.

20190810_170928.jpg

Pine Drop, I don't know if I'd really call this a wildflower but they are always cool to see.

20190810_165751.jpg

After an enjoyable slow hike, I made it to my destination, a small footbridge that crosses the creek. And wouldn't you know it, more wildflowers there too...

20190810_170631.jpg

It was a pretty quick walk home with no real stopping. There were a lot more flowers blooming but these were some of the ones that I shot. One thing I wish I could share but I can't was the smell of the forest today. It rained a little bit right before I headed out so the ground was wet which amplified all the scents big time. It made me incredibly happy.

I hope you all had a great day too!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Can you believe how incredible the Smartphone photos are these days!?

Incredible indeed! I'm especially impressed with the super wide angle lens on the Samsung. Still not good enough for printing large but getting closer every new model... Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55