WooHoo! My Latest Cover Shot!

in #photography5 years ago

Yesterday, I finally found this Northwoods Magazine with my cover shot on it. I licensed the image a while back but for some reason, I didn't get a copy in the mail. When I ran across it in a newstand, I was happy to see it and finally got my copy.

What you are looking at is a long exposure photo of the Torchlight Parade at Squaw Valley Ski Resort. Lots of skiers were holding poles with flares on them while skiing down the mountain. The long exposure smeared the light of the flares and made it look like one big light streak. It took quite a hike up a snowy mountain on the other side of the valley in order to get this angle and shot. Glad I made that hike!

20190108_153422.jpg

Here's the full frame image without text, click the photo if you want to view it large.
Squaw Valley Torchlight Parade 1(1).jpg

Photographed on a Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III and a 24-105mm lens set at 75mm. The ISO was 200 and the aperture was f16. This allowed me to have about a 2-minute exposure. A tripod was used, no lens filters were used.

I hope you are all having a great day out there!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

Congrats man, looks awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @hypnopreneur! It's cool to see you back on steem!

Thank you @serkagan! It's nice to have my work shared in print.

Wow man that is incredible!

What a very amazing photograph @scottshots!!
Congratulations on the cover shot! 🎉 That is so cool
it almost looks like molten metal zig zagging down
the mountain!

Thank you @shasta! Yup, I've heard it called "lava" as well. Glad you liked that one. Cheers!

Thats an awesome shot and I can see why they would want it on the cover, Congratulations and well deserved

Thank you @tattoodjay! Glad you like that one. Cheers!

MOst welcome :)

Wow, thats a nice shot, congratz!

Congratulation buddy,,, What an achievement..and photograph is extraordinary... It deserves to be featured...

Thank you @priyanarc! It's always fun to get a cover shot. Cheers!

Impressive shot and congrats on the feature

Thank you @yidneth! It was a fun but challenging shot to get. Cheers!

I can imagine due to the escale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76