Woohoo! My Photo Is On The Cover Of The Current Tahoe Weekly!

in #photography6 years ago

I'm always happy to get my images on the cover of print publications. I've had many cover shots over the years but it always still gives me that same excited feeling when I go and pick up a copy from the newsstand. Yesterday I picked up this one and it looks pretty good!

20180708_115749.jpg

Here's the original version of the image:

_Q1A2321.jpg click to view large

The photo was shot on a Canon 5DS R with a 24-105mm lens set at 84mm and a tripod was used. The ISO was 50, the aperture was f22 and I had a polarizing filter and graduated neutral density filter on the lens. This all allowed me to have a longer exposure of 10 seconds in order to get the waterfall silky smooth.

_Q1A2357.jpg

Here is a wider angle of the scene, taken with the lens set at 24mm. The waterfall is called Webber Falls and it is a bit north of Truckee, California. More information about Weber Falls can be found HERE. The spot that I scrambled down to for the shot is a bit sketchy and I wouldn't recommend doing it. However, there are lots of other vantage points where you can shoot the falls from. I would recommend wearing hiking shoes around the falls as it is mostly sloped and slippery with loose gravel. The upper part of the falls is a great area for hanging out in the pools and cooling off in the summer.

Webber Falls is a great spot but it's also known as a "local's secret". I'm sure I'll be receiving a little trash talk around town for sharing the spot with all the Tahoe Weekly readers haha! Oh well, that's what I do...

The Tahoe Weekly editor was given the choice of the two Webber Falls shots. If you were the publication's editor, would you have chosen the close up of the falls, or the wide angle?



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg


Click to view my Dynamic Steemians Discord channel. Feel free to ask me photo related questions there:

Sort:  

Yup, thank you!

WooHoo Congratulations @scottshots!! 🎉 What a beautiful Cover!!

Thank you @shasta!!! Glad you like that one. It turned out pretty cool. Cheers!

I always thought that I supported a very strong and good! congratulations;)))

Thank you @armandosodano!!! Hope you're having a great weekend!

Congrats man, that's awesome!!!

Thank you @ eoj!

Congrats, good photo. I know that feeling, having had a few front covers on magazines. Think I spent more on the magazine than I was paid on one of them but it still felt good.

That's awesome @sharpshot! Great feeling indeed, and yeah, publications don't pay very well these days but it's still cool. Thank you for the resteem!

you always go alone with Camera?? its my favorite dream place everyone wanttake selfie pictures here

Not always alone with the camera but usually. I believe I'll be shooting the sunset this evening with another photographer friend. Fingers crossed that it will be a good one... Webber Falls would be a great place for selfies, haha!

haha you right.. but your magazine selfie very awesome.. :) good luck

That's awesome! Way to go broz! Hopefully, it is just a start of your cover mag career!

Thank you @dynamicgreentk! And thank you for the resteem! Definitely not the start, I've had many covers over the years but always stoked to get new ones. Cheers!

Is this the first of 2018? That would be cool to see a compilation of photo covers over the years!

Oh shoot, I guess it is the first cover of the year. Definitely not the first image licensed for publication this year but yeah, first cover. Here's a little cover compilation I put together for one of my first steemit posts: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@scottshots/introduce-yourself-part-2-credibility-my-publication-cover-shots-and-an-intro-video

wao this is so amazing refreshing scene you capture, you seems highly professional. well done keep posting your all work

Thank you @samina2018! Glad you like that scene. My business Scott Shots Photography just hit 20 years old so yeah, I've been at it a while. I'll keep on posting for sure! Cheers!

Hahahaha! Not this time... Cheers!

Hahahaha! Just had to say it! :)

Amazing Scott! That is quite the honor. Congratulations on your achievement 💪🏻

Thank you Ken!!! Yes, always an honor when I get the cover shots. Hope you have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78