Discovering Crete, Part 12 - A walk through Agía Galíni II

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

thumb.jpg

Greetings Steemians!

Welcome to the continuation of my walk through the Cretan village of Agía Galíni ! In case you missed the first part, you can catch up ->here.

After ascending the narrow alleys I finally reached the top of the hill and could gather same beautiful views on the harbour basin:

1.jpg

2.jpg
Just around the corner, the beach of Agía Galíni. Doesn't seem to be the village's main attraction. Crete has more beautiful ones to offer.

3.jpg

According to the greek myth, it was a cliff right here, where Daedalus and his son Ikarus took off for their legendary flight with their self-made wings, trying to escape captivity. King Minos had arrested them to prevent Daedalus from disclosing the secret about the labyrinth that he had built for him. However, as most of us will recall, this early endeavour in aviation "history" had a dramatic ending. Ignoring his father's warnings, Ikarus flew too close to the sun. And so the wax that held his wings' feathers glued together melted away. Ikarus fell in the sea and drowned.

4.jpg
Since 2004 a monument reminds of the two legendary aviation pioneers - and provides a scenery for innumerable selfies.

5.jpg

6.jpg
Evening sets in and my stomach starts talking to me.

7.jpg
Tables are set for dinner.

8.jpg

9.jpg
This looks pretty yummy, doesn't it? I think I will stay here for a while.

Thanks for watching and 'til next time!

Shaka


All photos were recorded by myself with an Canon EOS 7D / Tamron 18-270 mm in Mai 2018. All rights reserved.


Discovering Crete - All previous posts:

Part 1, Agiofárango I Part 2, Agiofárango II
Part 3, Monastery Odigítrias I Part 4, Monastery Odigítrias II
Part 5, Phaistos I Part 6, Phaistos II
Part 7, Phaistos III Part 8, Mátala I
Part 9, Mátala II Part 10, Kamilari
Part 11, Agía Galíni I
Sort:  

I love old cities, Where the roads are meant for walking not for the traffic if you know what I mean! Beautiful post :)

I think I know very well what you mean. These roads can give you peace of mind. I hope we will have more of them in a not too distant future.

Traumhafte Blautöne!
Es wird Zeit, daß das "Beamen" erfunden wird, so daß man schnell mal einen Abstecher ins Paradies machen kann...

Zum Thema Beamen/Teleportation habe ich hier gerade kürzlich einen interessanten Artikel gelesen. Finde diesen aber auf die Schnelle gerade nicht...

Dort wird jedenfalls postuliert, dass beim Beamen, wenn es denn technologisch gelöst sein wird, zwar eine auf molekularer Ebene identische Kopie des Reisenden am Zielort erzeugt wird, allerdings dessen Bewusstsein dort ebenfalls neu "gestarted" wird. D.h. zum Zeitpunkt der Abreise hört das Bewusstsein des Abreisenden auf zu existieren. Dessen Dasein wird dann zwar von einer exakten Kopie am Zielort fortgeführt, aber davon bekommt der Abreisende nichts mehr mit...Nicht so attraktiv, diese Vorstellung - besser wir bleiben vorerst beim physischen Reisen (oder beim Mitreisen am Bildschirm) ;)

Sorry für die sehr späte Antwort...
Puuuh, nicht so attraktiv ist in diesem Zusammenhang ganz schön untertrieben. Das klingt ja schon richtig gruselig.
Du hast Recht, lieber beim physischen Reisen bleiben. Auch wenn es manchmal lästig scheint. Noch sind wir relativ mobil. Manche "Eliten" haben ja wohl anscheinend was dagegen und wollen das gernen zurückfahren...

Oh, hab' ich was verpasst, drohen Reiseeinschränkungen? Baustellen und die DB sorgen doch schon dafür, dass wir nicht allzu mobil werden :D.

Unstrittig dokumentiert sein dürfte der Satz von Merkel, daß in gar nicht all zu ferner Zukunft nur noch wenige das Recht haben sollen, autonom ein Fahrzeug zu fahren.
Kritiker bemängeln zudem, daß die Einführung der Elektromobilität ideologisch getrieben ist und nach planwirtschaftlichen Methoden geschieht. Fahrverbote für Diesel schränken in diesem Zuge die Mobilität teilweise schon heute ein. Da ich kein Physiker bin, vermag ich die Elektromobilität nicht wirklich zu beurteilen. Mein Baugefühl sagt mir aber, daß man die Argumente der Kritiker durchaus ernst nehmen sollte. ;-)
Ich gebe zu, es sind indirekte Reiseeinschränkungen, die sich erst anbahnen...

Since 2004 a monument reminds of the two legendary aviation pioneers

Good humor, Greek mythology and above all - amazing photos, as always!

All that you could possibly expect from a travel blog ;)

Thank you for this kind compliment :) As a non-native writer I'm not always sure whether my pinch of humor transmits as such.

Ikarus and Daedalus actually where one of my favorite stories from the greek myth CDs I was listening to a crazy amount of time in my childhood.

It went so far, that it helped me out a lot with Latin in High School. Fu fact: The translation of the story from Ikarus & Daedalus was an exam once - I think I passed ;)

Thx for bringing those memories back up!

Ha, that's funny. Thanks for sharing this memory.

I have somewhat similar associations with the Odyseey. I read it at the age of 12 or so while always listening to the same music tape. If I hear these songs today, certain scenes of the book still pop up in my mind.

Haha, jetzt verstehe ich.. das ist Griechenland pur, wunderschöne Eindrücke! Bei so einem Bombenwetter und lecker Essen macht das bestimmt ne Menge Spaß! Danke für den fetten upvote meines kleinen Gitarrenstücks passend zum Thema!.. was jetzt auch bei mir abspielbar scheint.

What else can i say about Crete that i havent said before .. I always found these small towns to me more interesting when trying to experience the feel of the area youre visiting then the big tourist attractions...

Their tourist board should reward you for promoting the island online. 😇
Part 12. Thats quite a lot.

Well, for me it would be reward enough if we get to the stage, where an entity like the Cretan tourist board would actually take notice of our platform ;)

I know the Croatian Tourist board did reward with coupons or something in that regard for people going out their way and promoting croatia. People that had great reach and success.. Maybe share this on the Cretan tourist board facebook page? Could be a good idea to promote Steem.
The posts really havebhigh quality pictures and interesting places in them.

I am actually thinking of something regarding that ..... If you would like to discuss further please do let me know :)
(I have a plan .... any help would be appreciated)

I totally agree with you
Rewards from promotions like this is worth it

What a quaint and beautiful coastal village! I am sure you could've spent hours sipping coffee and eating those delicious meals overlooking the ocean

Hello friend, when seeing such beautiful landscapes, a few words of a song come to my mind, "thanks to the life that has given me so much". Through the network I have the pleasure of having reached your blog and even being new, I enjoy all those adventures you have to share. For me an unknown world and I am captivated by all the mythology and beauty of Greece, here in Agìa Galìni I am impressed by the mythological history of Ikarus and his legendary journey by plane, I imagine that the name of the sport Ikarus is derived from there. Very beautiful images, the food looks exquisite, and I see that you knew how to enjoy it, I'm glad for that, I follow you on your extraordinary adventure. Greetings @shaka

()

What an beautiful place to be, it’s waking up my fernweh...luckily my vacations are coming soon.

AB9BD504-A3D7-4827-BCF9-1CC7B09AFF81.jpeg

This pic is perfect. I will use it as screensaver for a while 👌🏼😌

Die alten Türen und Statuen sind super. Was ich immer bei so griechischen Bildern sehr imposant finde, das das Meer immer so sehr dunkelblau wirkt. Irgendwie mehr als bei anderen Ländern. Oder es kommt mir nur so vor.... Schöne Bilder @shaka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05