Cooking Swiss Roll Part 2

in #photography6 years ago

In summary, the recipe for the swiss roll is very simple, but there are many versions of this fully sponge that have had variations in different countries. For instance in Hong Kong, the sponge made its way from the UK and had since been adapted by Chinese bakeries. They would add exotic fillings and ingredients to make it their own version. I decided to keep things simple with a mixed jam filling. The cream, mango and other interesting fillings would probably be next up on the menu.

I don’t tend to use my oven nearly enough and so baking of the swiss roll gave me another excuse to fire it up. A couple of nights before I had gathered all the needed ingredients and set out a rough plan on how to cook the recipe. Surprisingly, this was much easier than the Chinese biscuits I made before and it was simply a case of folding and creating a fluffy sponge. This filled up the cake mould beautifully and the greased layer allowed for easy removal. Once cooked, I removed the sponge and applied filling before carefully rolling it into a literal roll. The spiral shape of the cake was apparent now and I gently cut the cake into bite size slices. This cooking venture was a success and they went down well with some tea.

Sort:  

It looks really delicious ... I like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16