Agave and aloes

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

The weather has started to cool down and the light was so pretty in the morning that I grabbed my camera and took some pictures of my agave and aloes.

Agave

Since moving to the desert I have discovered the absolute beauty of the agave plant. A couple of years ago I bought and planted this White Striped Agave next to the aloes in my backyard.


Aloes

There are two aloes in my backyard, by my agave. One thing that I have learned about aloes is that they like to mass produce and I often find little baby aloes sprouting up next to the mature ones.



Agave and aloes

It was so fun to see them growing together. They are both such beautiful plants, with their lines and colors.


Sort:  

Amazing macro shots, Sara!!

Thanks! It was so fun taking them!

I have never seen an agave plant, before. Of course, I've heard how it's processed as a sugar alternative and, more commonly, into tequila. Do you use your agave for cooking, or is it ornamental?

My grandmother had an aloe plant in her home and used to use it to treat burns. Not only pretty, but pretty useful stuff!

The agave is ornamental for me. It is such a pretty plant. I just gave some of my aloe to a friend for her sunburn the other day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05