Homegrown medicine arrives the spring, in the form of a misunderstood dandelion!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Another springtime Warrior, Herbal / flower I found today, is a dandelion; and a lot of people think they're just weeds!

They do grow just about anywhere and they're very difficult to remove because of their seeding ability! When you Wildcraft, be certain what you are harvesting; and be sure it is not covered in pesticides of critters!

They are very Hardy plant fortunately they're also very useful. Here's a picture of a couple of them one is actually growing up their crack in the driveway. So they're not real picky

The yard plant is bigger, darker, and appears to be eating better:
20190404_185416.jpg

The driveway plant is fighting a lot harder, and is visably smaller:
20190404_185220.jpg

I like to trim out the center Vein on the leaves but they do make a nice addition to salad. They have a bitter flavor and it's a nice contrast in the salad!

A dandelion is kind of a maligned flower. But it does have many good uses! This is with good science behind them: for bladder stones, bronchitis, gallbladder, gas and indigestion, kidney stones, lack of appetite, liver function problems, pneumonia and other respiratory problems, and it's also good for the urinary tract. All these functions have good scientific support behind them.

Some if the uses that are more folklore uses, that don't have as much science behind them but have been used for a long time would be: alcoholism, arthritis, breast pain, sclerosis of the liver, constipation, diabetes, eczema, problems with the heart, gastritis, gout, works for heartburn, hemorrhoids, jaundice, skin problems, and tonsillitis. They've been used for treating these conditions for years.

naturalmedicine banner for end of post.png

My grandfather was a cobbler and used dandelion root cream for his hands, to cure the cracking from the chemicals and other harsh stuff used in the in the cobbler profession.

Not too bad for a simple weed that everybody spray is Roundup on! From what I've seen lately you're better off with the weed and not the Roundup LOL.

Dandelion is one of the most versatile herbals that I found it treats a lot of stuff people don't realize! It might deserve a little better treatment from us. You're going to dig it up clean it eat it or make cream out of it but don't just dig it up and throw it away.

So maybe now when you go out in the yard to get rid of all those terrible little yellow flowers you look at him slightly differently. Truly a Pharmacy in your front yard.

Sort:  

Your grandfather was onto something. You can make an oil first impregnated with dandelion, and from that make a beeswax salve. We don't have then in Asia and I had forgotten how cheery and chirpy they look. Nice post.

I am going to try it myself, I know he cooked the roots down for the base for this cream. But that is all I know, I just need to work the rest out. It is not possible to peal them, but if I wash then well, and mash them into a puree (an almost fluid). I will have to play with it some.

:)>

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

@wakeupnd thanks for the curation! I liked this one myself!

:)>

Interesting these little plants.

Posted using Partiko Android

Every time I study this weed, I learn some new use. They are also attractive and easy to grow, LOL!

I would LOVE oto know how my Grandfather made the cream he used....

:)>

Haha easy to grow lol :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, If I can grow it...LOL!

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98