My Son took a little trip, and had little swim in the mare nostrum, so I posted some pictures!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

My Son Philip took a little trip, and I told him to take a little swim while he was there. He sent me a few pictures of the local mud hole he swam in...called the Mediterranean sea, ROFLOL! I talked him into Europe instead of the Caribbean, as it is about the same money. He had a good time, and went to Delphi as well as the Acropolis.

He stayed to Athens, and enjoys SCUBA, so here are some all original pictures of coastal caves. My Son is on the right:

Philip prep for dive.jpg

A few fish on the way down:

Philip view of the fish.jpg

growths along the edge:

Philip below the surf.jpg

Now the caves:

Philip cave diving.jpg

Philip swim in the med.jpg

Enjoy! :)

Sort:  

The diving looks like a lot of fun, but I'm not big on caves, especially underwater ones. I'll just stay outside. ;)

I don't hate caves, as long as I can see open water. I will NOT go deep enough I need lights and lines! Too addicted to breathing, ROFLOL!

But the Mediterranean is a beautiful blue for sure! I wish I could have joined him, I enjoy SCUBA myself!

:D

Oh gosh! Handsome guy! Where'd he get that from?? Great photos!

You HAVE to tag: #ocd-resteem when you post awesome photography, Toby. Try it.

I will do that, Thanks!

He takes after his Momma, ROFLOL! He is a CLEET Guard at Tulsa University.

:)

He really had fun, But Rome was better last year! This diving was a close second though. His puppy dog was crazy happy to have him back, ROFLO! She was even trying to be good....

:)

LOL...Well, I am glad you were able to keep everything together on the home front.

He bought a house with a basement apartment, which he rents to another campus cop. That guy Loves his dog, and asked to keep her while Philip was away. She went wild when he got back, ROFLOL!

I have always shot for kids that do not Need me, but like my company. I have been blessed that both kids are independent; but they love to come by and visit.

:)

That's what matters. Life doesn't mean much (at our age) if your kids don't visit.

So very true! It is gold if they don't need to come by, and yet they do anyway.

It is a little exciting too, in that he is starting to listen to me. In fact he just called me for advice, ROFLOL! We are working on his new house, and he needed planning help.

:)

Hey, @smithlabs.

Seems to me that if you had to talk your son into where to go, you should have gone with him, and taken the photos yourself! :)

The Mediterranean is definitely one place on my list. I like the idea of southern Europe (France, Italy, Greece) for a vacation destination. I've been on the west side of the Caribbean around Cancun and the Mexican Riviera, and really enjoyed that for what I'm going to guess is about half what your son must have spent. I'm guessing that he was going to go to one of the tourist islands, like Aruba or something, but it's the same water and sand, plus there's pretty cool ruins to go explore. :)

Of course, in my case, since I speak Spanish and my wife is from there, that kind of sways my decision making. But just a tad. :)

She actually wants to go tour castles in Europe. Go figure.

I would have enjoyed that, but Debbie's in a wheelchair, relies on me heavily; and I can't leave her overnight.

When he went to Rome last year, a week in the off season, was the same cost as 4 days in Belize.

He did NOT like Greece because there were bearded men laying all over the place on the sidewalk. He said the shopkeepers scrubbed several times a day; but everything smelled of urine and feces. Rome was clean, but part of that was probably due to off season. He enjoyed both places, but will not go back to Greece again.

My Daughter loved Scotland, and they have gone back twice. They went to Sweden to visit a friend there, and liked it a lot too.

I would Love to dive Truk lagoon:

https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g311328-d447377-Reviews-Truk_Lagoon-Chuuk.html

:)

Interesting. Not sure how Belize pencils out compared to Cancun, but it's one of the places on my list to visit.

Bearded men, eh? Are we using code here for a certain kind of refugee which has arrived en masse in Europe and currently inhabiting a good part of it? :)

Someone else on Steemit mentioned running into the exact thing a few months back while vacationing in Greece. I'd like to tour the ruins, and visit the islands, but that would be mostly it.

I'm not sure if I'm into Rome so much, but I was thinking of places like Sicily, the island, and around the foot and heel of the boot. :) The other place I was thinking of visiting was Venice, but that's up in the northern part.

I'd like to go to Switzerland, too, just to see what that's like. I have ancestors from Scotland, England, Poland and Denmark. I guess we could make the rounds. :) For some reason, Luxembourg, Latvia and Austria would be on my list, too.

It would be fun! She just can not travel, so pictures will have to do. :)

Yes, Greece is covered (infested) with muslims. They are not able to clean enough to remove the stink! I would love to see the hot gates at Thermopylae! Philip went to Delphi too, and really liked it. The SCUBA was one of his best parts of the trip.

That is a nice vacation list; Post pictures, ROFLOL!

Their friend from Sweden, came here to visit. He had never fired a gun before, so we took him to the gun club. I gave him a Swedish Mauser to shoot, just seemed right...He liked shooting a lot! He looked the gun over, and said "Hey, I can read this one!"; so I told him it was from Sweden! Then he REALLY Loved it

:)

I doubt we'll be heading to Europe in the immediate future. My wife wants to do something with the kids and their families next year, which aside from logistics will mean it also probably needs to be cheaper. The youngest son's wife would like to go back to Hawaii. I think Disneyland would be better (we can drive there, maybe), and I think my wife would actually like to get them over to Cancun. Regardless of where we might go, there will be not quite a two-year-old granddaughter and a no older than five-month-old grandson along for the ride. However we do it, that's a lot of traveling for the young ones.

However, trips make for ready posts, so if/when any of that happens, there will be photos. :)

I look forward to seeing them, and the little ones are too small for a long flight! Driving is best, your plans are solid, and the two year old would enjoy Disney World.

Good times with Family is a real treasure, and Pictures make good memories!

:D

howdy sir smithlabs! wow that looks totally amazing! Have you ever been diving like that? You have to get trained and everything right?
Fantastic photos, you can tell you didn't take them. lol.

I have not dived in years, But I have spent many a fun hour underwater! He probably started training because of his crazy old man. I have been down 120 feet, and have dived in a lot of places. I even thought about some mixed gas deep dives, but just couldn't afford it!

I would LOVE to dive Truk lagoon! That would be better than a pink chair!

:)

sir smithlabs! of course you have. what does this mean though? "I would LOVE to dive Truk lagoon!" what is a truk lagoon?

In 1944 we caught the Japanese fleet in their forward base in the lagoon off of truk atoll. It was their Pearl Harbor, and we sank a lot of their war capability there. It makes for a great dive into History! Lots to see, and it is mostly shallow.

https://www.argunners.com/truk-lagoon-and-its-stunning-ship-graveyard/

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34