We are lucky to have the weed Red Deadnettle in our yard, herbals, here I come!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

We have a lot of Red Deadnettle (lamium purpureum) in our yard! But don't feel bad for me, I was glad to find it!

Red Deadnettle looks like this:
20190405_0729451.jpg

This is another weed, which are my favorite sourcd for wildcrafting! If you pull up all you can find, in weeks it will be flowering again. This means that it is almost impossible to hurt the plant colony.

It is astringent, diaphoretic, diuretic, purgatibe & styptic! Not too bad for a weed....

naturalmedicine banner for end of post.png

An application of dried leaves can stem hemorraging. Very useful for prepping medicine, and as part of a combat first aid kit!

I will use a sithe to harvest this in volume, to dry on a large cement slab. Final drying will be in a dehydration unit, and this Red Deadnettle will be stored in 2 quart jars, in a storm cellar. Well labeled of course. I like to put a paper label inside the jar, against the glass, and fill the herbs in behind it. That way I have a readable protected label.

It can be used as an infusion (tea) of directly in dried form.

Sort:  

I've never seen this "weed" (read 'abundant medicinal plant') before. Love to be learning about the natural world through you. Thank you. Would love to see a post about your dehydration unit, as I'm working with them too here in Thailand. :)

This is a new one for me also, I love finding a new herbal I can use for medicine.

My dehydrator looks like this

https://www.ebay.com/itm/American-Harvest-Food-Dehydrator-8-Tiers-Excellent/143146763157?hash=item2154364395:g:eGUAAOSwqCJccv3J
dehydrator.jpg

I always wondered about this plant, stinging nettle tops as boiled greens are my favourite.

Stinging nettle is my most valuable herbal. It has repaired damage to my lungs from extreme cold exposure, and it treats MS better than prescriptions. It makes a very tasty tea from a dry infusion too.

I have seeds, and intend to plant it on the new land;away from the house, LOL!

♡♡♡

My wife has used it for hay fever successfully, I wouldn't call the infusion tasty but neither is it yucky. MS is a new one for me, have you ever tried the young tops as a pot green?

I have heard good things about steaming and eating nettle, and as soon as I get a crop, I intend to eat some. Add a little honey and it gets nice.

I will try some tea today for my hayfever, I like it anyway; so I will add a little lemon and honey, and drink it Hot!

Thanks for reading.

:)>

When using it to prevent hay fever you have to take it regularly.

I take capsules every night, but I can make the tea, I have plenty here. It has saved my lungs from chronic bronchitis from cold exposure!

:)>

Stinging Nettle is good for the liungs in general, and does a lot of good repair there. It would be a good thing for smokers to use! It sure helped me, my Doctor thought that I had gone to another doctor, because I stopped coming to him with bronchitis!

Good times! :)

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72