Infrared Photography - Morning thunderstorm forming near by

in #photography5 years ago

While checking out the trails and walking around a large lake at Fort Mountain State Park I observed a thunderstorm off in the distance.

It was a few miles away and if I stuck around it probably would have been over on top of me within a few hours. It was the morning, shortly after the park opened.

rw-1190874.jpg

Camera ModelLumix GH3, modified by LifePixel for Full Spectrum
LensOlympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12mm-50mm
Filter720nm Infrared Passthrough filter
Aperturef/5.2
Shutter Speed1/320 sec
Film Speed200
SpectrumInfrared (IR)
Wavelength720 nanometers
LocationFort Mountain State Park Georgia USA.

rw-1190873.jpg

There were many trees on the lake, blocking the view of the sky. A little bit of a tree in the corner of this photo.

rw-1190871.jpg

The morning sun was scattered across the water, and little ripples on the lake as the current moved.

rw-1190876.jpeg

I could hear thunder coming from these clouds, quite mild by the time it reached me but still was noticeable on the quiet lake.

These images are being hosted by Spee.ch
An image hosting service on top of the LBRY protocol.

Makingblocks.xyz/about


I take pictures with a special camera. Its a Mirrorless DSLR that has been modified by Life Pixel to see light in other wavelengths. This allows my camera to see light in the Infrared [IR] around 1300 NM wavelength, through the visual spectrum and into the Ultraviolet A and B wavelengths roughly into the 300 NM wavelength.

I carry many filters on me to make the photos you see in my blog, these filters screw on my lens and help me isolate certain wavelengths for certain scenes. These filters can be IR / UV pass-through filters to assist me get a natural photo taking out the UV and IR light. Or I may use a Infrared pass-through filter capture just IR light. I can do the same with UV light as well, though I need some better filters which they can cost a few hundred dollars for true Ultraviolet pass through filters. So for right now I have B + W 403 bandpass filters that still allow some IR light in, due to their cheaper material.

There are also exotic glasses made of sapphire and germanium I am open to working with to replace my silica glass hot mirror with a material that allows even longer wavelengths of infrared to enter my cameras sensor. Special sensors, lenses and filters of that material would be needed as well, so it would be a big project but one that may give some even more unique photography results.

Bitbacker.io/user/solominer/

Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

For more information on how I do my photography I have a short video on that: https://steempeak.com/photography/@solominer/vqgcrs3x



PlatformURL/Username
Steemhttps://steempeak.com/@solominer
Steem Monstershttps://peakmonsters.com/@solominer/collection
Wekuhttps://main.weku.io/@solominer
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
DiscordSolominer#4248
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer
Publish0xhttps://www.publish0x.com/solominer

Sort:  

the clouds looks great

@o4wx they sure do, I love the IR look of sky and clouds.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent photography there wonderful scenes

@cityslicker thank you, I am quite amazed with how they came out. Just makes me wanna do more photography with it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=solominer
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=infrared-photography-morning-thunderstorm-forming-near-by


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow - fantastic cloud photos! Your full spectrum work is very cool.

Posted using Partiko Android

@sagesigma thanks alot, I found out about full spectrum cameras from ghost hunting TV shows. I have not done much with them in that aspect, but I am using it alot for nature photography.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, I was going to ask you that to, as I've seen full spectrum cameras on a few shows too. Have you ever captured anything anomalous in your work?

Posted using Partiko Android

@sagesigma yeah while up on a roof I caught an invisible light flying way off in the distance. It traveled around 180 degrees across the horizon at a slow steady pace, it flickered when looked up close. It was not visible to my eyes but I could see it in the camera video. It may be a satellite, but I really dont know for sure.

Yeah, im not surprised. I wouldn't be surprised if it was some type of craft, terrestrial or otherwise. I really need to get a similar type of full spectrum setup to start looking for stuff like this too. I've heard of some crazy things seen near me on the Mississippi River, but no one films it. I have no idea what bit is, but it's fascinating subject matter.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Amazing photos there @solominer it is just good to look at images in many types of spectrum like infrared.
I wonder if some smartphoes are capable of it?

@cryptopie yeah it's pretty cool how I can isolate wavelenghs of light using screw on filters.. it changes the scene drastically.

Yes you can, you would need to remove hot mirror from the lens of the smart phone camera. Hope your smartphone can adjust the white balence as it will change after removing the hot mirror.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.585 which ranks you at #6293 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 6300).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 134 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Absolutely amazing with the infrared camera! I'm sure the clouds would have been cool with a regular camera, but this is stunning!

@goat-girlz thanks alot, yeah probably but everyone is already doing that.. hah

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 40.26% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @solominer! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91