Infrared Photography: Scouting the fallen tree forest

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Walking through nature trails we came across alot of fallen trees in one area. We continued until we got to a dead end but saw this amazing tree on the way back to the main trail.

P1160092.JPG

We found this tree, must have been over a century old, but still alive. It fell over at some point but continued to grow. As you can see next to me is a full sized tree trunk growing from the downed tree.

P1160068.JPG

P1160112.JPG

As we approached this amazing tree we came across some downed pines. We climbed through their branches still on the trail.

P1160081.JPG

There were two vertical trunks coming out of the century old tree that fell.

P1160080.JPG

The tree was so massive it was hard to get any meaningful photo of it in its entirety.

P1160087.JPG

P1160084.JPG

Many other downed trees in this region of the forest, but smaller younger trees probably knocked out when severe storms have come through the area.

This region of the Appalachian forest had a really special feeling, some amazing trees all around made the experience very natural and was a good way to get away from masternodes for awhile :-)

Sort:  

Nice photos bro. And wow, I think I have never seen a tree grow on top of a dead one. Looks mystical again. And you even saw two growing out of a fallen one.

And you are so right. Activities in nature are an ideal compensation concerning masternodes and stuff, I guess.

@gandalfthewhite

I think thats why it was picked as a geocache location, a really unique and amazing sight. Yeah exactly, those two trunks are probably over 100' tall and seem to be doing fine. Hah yeah when my wrist is hurting from cli copying and pasting I need to go out in to the woods to decompress.

So nice photography,, @solominer sir.
Thanks for visit my propile.. it's for you sir..

gifeditor_20180705_192300.gif

@nevlu123

thanks I really appreciate it, no problem ill follow you.

Nice pictures

How are you @solominer ?

whether in the photo it is you?

How are you with @fredomcoin?

@santiintan

Hello long time steem friend, been doing well. Getting my masternodes all set up and going to try to post more to Steemit soon.

Thanks! Yeah that is me, im standing on the tree that has fallen but keeps growing.

My @freedomcoin account is almost completely powered down, and have moved it to my @solominer account.

I hope @yusuf93-freedom is alright, I have not see any posts by him in months.

Thanks @solominer for replying to my comments.

Unfortunately @freedomcoin account is not active when I have memorized and match your the name.

@yusuf93-freedom I also do not know because the place where I live with the residence @yusuf93-freedom far apart, different islands, I'm on Bogor, West Java, the island of Java, Indonesia while @yusuf93-freedom in Aceh, the island of Sumatera, Indonesia

I also hope he's okay, maybe @yusuf93-freedom busy or maybe his password is gone again...

@santiintan

Ah gotcha, well hopefully we will hear from him soon. Yeah its possible, its easy to lose them.

The Appalachian mountains are one of the oldest mountain range in the world. I read about this region in my geography books. The trees which photos you posted, are so gigantic and amazing. These trees must be centuries old.

@akdx

They sure are, alot of people go looking for gold in the mountains due to their old age. Glad you know about the area, one day I might want to trek from Flordia to Maine across the whole trail. But that will require alot of training.

I'll wait for your more posts in future.

@akdx

ok good, ill post more soon!

It’s amazing to see a fallen tree that kept growing so well.

@momzillanc

Yeah I think so as well, usually they fall over due to their weird shape. But this one is doing quite well..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86