A rambling post about my fascination for Dirty Train Window photography

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: A rambling post about my fascination for Dirty Train Window photography


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

I love your attitude on "protesting against all those pixel perfect shots." I am definitely guilty of having a high-megapixel camera, BUT I do not try and make every shot perfect.

I have long been a run-and-gun sort of photographer! I'd like to think my photos might trick people to think otherwise, haha :)

Keep it up!

:D Thanks a lot @dropthepress! What do you mean by 'run and gun' hahaha - sounds adventurous ;-)

Yes, I like to be adventurous because it gets me out of the house and exploring new places.

By "run and gun" I mean that I do not focus too much on preparation for each individual photo. I am much more likely to take a lot of photos and then select the best ones later.

So I cover more ground and take a lot of photos in the process. I do not worry about sunset, clouds or harsh light.

I love exploring! I should probably do more photo blogs about that :)

I think we're a bit the same then :-) Yes, share more blogs about that! If you have a link to some pictures you're proud of tell me :-) Cheers!

The last time I was traveling by bus, I was privileged to sit by a clean window (very rare here in Latin America :D) and the view was not bad either. I snapped this one somewhere in the Colombian Andes :)

IMG_20190505_165732.jpg

All that magnificent beauty just from a bus window... <3

Hahaha. Simple indeed.
I love photography, but I can't walk around with a phone, a camara or a video camera capturing things that I know nobody else will give shit about. Not without risking my life, so I forfeited my photographic vocation.

Sometimes when I see a building or house demolished, or a new building erected on a previously empty lot, I wonder, does anyone have a picture of what this was like before?
The answer is always, No.

I have fantasies with a technological device that will allow us to just fix in digital form what we see with our own eyes. The perfect camera.
I'm sure it will be available any time. That will allow photo-crazy people like yourself take pictures all the time without having to deal with annoying questions.

I can't tell the window was dirty, by the way :)

I'm sad to hear you can't really do photography... But I understand the risks it brings :-( Yes, the 'perfect camera' would be an amazing tool to have - I would be outside playing with it all the time and never stop looking @hlezama! :D Thanks for stopping by!

Kind of like those through the car window shots, we don't have a lot of train travel here in Alaska, There is a train, and I have been on it a few times years ago, It was a fun ride, I spent most of my time between the cars taking pictures. I don't think they let people stand between the cars any more though, but it was a fun couple of trips. Back to through the window shots, yes some times those bug splats or rain drops, windshield wiper streaks, can add an interesting dimension to the picture.

I really love the pace and comfort of train travel, being able to really stare out of a window, listening to the rhythm of the cars on the tracks... But wow Alaska, as a photographer I really really really want to visit that place someday - do you have a couch I can sleep on? :')

Between the cars, now THAT's an adventure! Here in Europe rules are strict and there's no way to do that. But I see you do understand where my fascination for shooting through windows come from... yes some times those bug splats or rain drops, windshield wiper streaks, can add an interesting dimension to the picture." - INDEED.

Here's one of my favourite shots from a tram: https://steempeak.com/writing/@soyrosa/photo-haunted-house-or-and-all-the-stories-it-might-hold
And here from a car: https://steempeak.com/photofeed/@soyrosa/photo-dutch-roads-2

:-) Cheers @shadowsmask!

I loved the Rainy Tree through the windshield, and the haunted house one was pretty cool, funniest was about the sheep. I ahd a good laugh at that one. But I ahve seen so many movies with sheep doing exactly like you said, so now I know for sure it is real and not staged by the movie people, well staged but that it really does happen.

Hahaha - indeed it's real - I honestly never knew until I met the sheep in Scotland :') Thanks for looking to some of my photography @shadowmask! Appreciate it :-)

All your photographs I love @soyrosa and I'm always amazed at the good eye you have to capture the landscape from the windows of a train. I confess that I like photography, I think it is one of the best inventions, because it allows us to treasure moments and make them unforgettable. Continue with your series, here I enjoy them. A hug.

Simply beautiful! See, seek and capture the beauty of a tree, landscape or lygar where others do not see it, is an art. I admire what you do, beautiful photography! Congratulations and thanks for sharing!

Thanks a lot for that @milrosas! :-) Always happy to hear someone like what I do - not always sure it's understood ;-)

Oh I love grey skies, especially right before a storm. There is this eerily pressing feeling in the air probably just a barometric pressure change which makes me think of a pack of stalking wolves. That might sound strange, but I like wolves, and I spotted a couple one time during grey skies.
I love your dirty train window photo's keep em coming ;)

I saw a fox recently - was my first time - in the wild, from a train window! I was humbled, not much wild life where I'm from :D

And thanks, I'll sure keep them coming!

We have deep roots in nature, and it's important to maintain this connection in my opinion. uh oh, opinions.. 😁

In New York, we have a few heavily populated cities, which are small in comparison to NYC, but still very congested, and barely any wildlife. I'm in one of the smaller congested cities.

But, New York is mostly wilderness and farm lands! So, a short drive will take you to magical places. A vehicle is not a luxury I have right now, so it's very seldom I'm able to go to the woods, but I jump at any opportunity that presents itself.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!


I like how the tree looks magnified through the smaller lower train window and I really like the open wheat fields you did in color. Coming from the wheat belt of the world, western Kansas, it reminds me of home and raising our young children. Not too many people think miles of wheat fields are beautiful.

There's beauty everywhere - but not everyone can see it. We can teach them to see it thought :-)

You got a 22.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @soyrosa! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80