[Photo Essay] Fossils from my photo archives, Or: What will our digital files be worth in a few years time?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: [Photo Essay] Fossils from my photo archives, Or: What will our digital files be worth in a few years time?


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Thank you! :-)

U welcome! 😊

I hope all our old pictures are worth alot! Its alot of fun to fund old pictures. Often a few years later it's shocking to see what has changed and how much it has changed!! 😊

It's suuuuper fun! :D I'm now thinking of making a tiny booklet of the old Insta files :-)

There you go 🤗. Do it!! 😁😁

Good points.. But I believe that uncompressed files saved electronically will still be usable in the future with some effort - even if 50 years nobody will know what a JPEG or a floppy disk is, if the floppy disc itself is not broken, somehow it will probably still be possible to read the floppy disc and convert the JPEG to a new file format. But despite that I agree that printing out photos is where they show their true beauty!

Yes, I believe we can still read a lot of files, but the ease with which? I mean, I am still able to find a video cassette player and a cd-rom player, but they gradually were removed from my house - I recently got a CD-rom from someone and realized I have no way to play it at home haha. Well, just stay aware and take care of your work! <3 Printing is awesome anyway, absolutely!

Wishing you all the luck in the world. You have my support, if ever needed. Thank you

Thank you @johnskotts! For all your support :-)

Excellent subject!
I am thinking about how to preserve my files from day one of my digital carer. And I haven't find a solution.
I know that my slides and the negative films I shot in my early photographic years will live long after my physical death, available to anyone who cares to look at it, but the digital ones?
Once I stop copying them every few years to a new hard drive they are as good as gone (maybe even before that).
Prints are giving a longer life expectancy but still I don't trust printers and the new materials they use just because they haven't be tested in the one thing we are printing for. Time.
Anyway that's my worries. I think what you are doing is the best thing you can do, so go for it and I hope I'll get the chance to hold in my hands one of your books :)

Nice shots, too!

I have no 'real' solution either, but I found a back-up service (backblaze) that makes a copy of my harddrive - it's not cloud storage, but just a copy of my harddisk - if something happens to my computer I can send them a disk and they can send me all my files back by mail! That makes me feel a bit safer :-) (for 50$ a year it's doable!)

Ahhh yes, I hope I can make that book soon enough, I'll keep you updated! :-)

Yes that's doable and very interesting. Thanks for the tip!

Die van de fiets is fantastisch ! En fiets blijft uner Hollands vind ik

Haha, ja, absoluut! :D Dankje!

interesting question that i did not answer to myself yet. few years back i started printing photos, "exhibiting" them at my office (accounting) and after a while giving them to people that were part of it (that are at the photos or were there with me). So i don't really have photos in my archive of any kind, except HDD that keep piling up, with hope that they will not die.
I like the book idea, it is a lot of work to make a book that has sense and everything goes together. Now while writing, maybe i could make something from my local bends photo series.

Yes, make a book @bil.prag! It is very very hard indeed, especially picking the right shots, but it's sooo worth it, and a partial solution to our storage challenge :-) As I mentioned to fotostef, backblaze helped me get some peace of mind because they will keep a copy of my harddisk for me to download or get send by mail if needed :-)

just looked it up, so they will backup all hdd that are connected to my PC? so 9TB, with my up speed i will never upload that much data :D

LOL - No, they have different offers for that much data I believe! For my situation it's fine :D

Hello, Im visiting you from the NYC Discord Server.

I held on to a camara phone from when my first was born in 2006 because I thought I had something amazing stored in there. I didn't.

Its ok that pictures are "lost" or unable to be fully appreciated, it makes it part of the learning process. Imagine if every shot we ever took was perfectly preserved, we would be inundated with photography at all angles.

I sometimes feel the same about my writing. Oh well that some of it is lost - it doesn't represent the me, now anyway.

Happy to have visited you here on steemit. I enjoyed reading your post.

Heeeey @metzli, so fun to see you here from the NYCoin server! :D

Yes, I see what you mean, but I also find great value in seeing my development both in photography and writing. You can see the growth and also what is 'still there', the line that goes through everything you create :-) Ah well, I've lost some blogs and some photos in my years as well, and sometimes I feel sad about it, but most days I don't think about it either ;-) It's part of life.

Thanks for stopping by!

Keep up the great work ^^ @soyrosa .... Such rich and warm colours. Absolutely love with your photography!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86