[PHOTO] Through a dirty train window #29

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: [PHOTO] Through a dirty train window #29


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

One of my fav things about the train ride down to London, when I used to go more often was the ever-changing graffiti walls.

I had a good friend from university who recently passed away called Alex, who was an excellent London graffiti artist. He was the real deal. He'd been to jail for his art and also is the only person I've ever met who knows Banksy. Ha ha, well that is what he used to tell us anyway, but I believed him.

https://www.newsshopper.co.uk/news/2392522.graffiti-gang-members-jailed/

He can be seen in this article at the top right of the group mug-shot looking pretty cheesed off. What is mad to me is that I've seen his work and it is 100% art, but he got jailed at such an early age for it. I suppose it is a question of perspective but for me it really is not justice, especially now he's passed away all I can think about is how he lost a year of his life for what amounts to putting paint on trains.

He also spent most of the last decade on a youth project helping innner city London kids channel their energy into creativity.

https://hattydaze.wordpress.com/2014/11/08/paint-my-panda-murals-in-peckham/

ha ha, but I've gone off on one telling you a story. You're pic reminded me of London and my friend, Rosa. Thanks for sharing :)

P.s. if ya like graffiti I've just found his page where some of his art is displayed: https://publicinsta.com/hashtag/powerizm

Ohhh - but don't say sorry, I like your story! There's so much creativity to be found in graffiti and it's often overlooked or looked down on. I especially love what he did with the London Kids - there's a lot of value to create art with kids, let alone if they can show it off to all their friends like that :D Super cool - I appreciate you for sharing!

Oh, I love this one! Like the law of thirds division b/n sky, building and graffiti!

Thank you so much @kimberlylane! Really glad you like this one too :-)

Always interesting to see the differences. Even the same colored roofs have difference amounts of windows as well!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @soyrosa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.253 which ranks you at #814 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 816).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #71.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78