Travelling with Stabilo #2: Destination - Hallstatt, Day 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

Travelling with Stabilo #2: Destination - Hallstatt, Day 1


I went to Nuremberg for my best friend’s wedding. After the wedding he asked me,

"So, where are you heading off to next?"
"I am going to Hallstatt, you know, the famous town that had been voted as the most beautiful small town in Europe?"
"Never heard of it."

Well, I guess this most beautiful town thing might have been just a hype amongst us Chinese. But still, I was determined to go. Even if it is not the most beautiful town in Europe, it must surely be close to it.


Town_postcard_resized.jpg


Getting to Hallstatt from Nuremberg was not exactly easy. I needed to catch a ICE express train to Munich, from Munich to Salzburg, then catch a bus to Bad Ischl, from Bad Ischl catch a train to Hallstatt station, and then from the station catch a ferry across the Lake to Hallstatt town. I am usually a train person, so I was a bit anxious about catching a bus especially because I know zero German. But I was excited, as it was my first solo trip since my son was born 4 years ago.


train1_resized.jpg

train_2_resized.jpg


The trip was much smoother than I expected. There was a bit of confusion on which bus to get onto after getting out of Salzburg Hbf, but I got on the bus ok. The train ride was scenic as they always are in Europe, but the bus ride was particularly spectacular. The bus passed through Wolfgangsee Lake district, which is apparently one of the most popular domestic destinations for Austrians, and it is not hard to see why.


bus1_resized.jpg

bus2_resized.jpg


After an enjoyable 5 hours journey, I finally got a glimpse of Hallstatt from the train across the Hallstattsee (See means Lake in German). And just as the train pulled into Hallstatt station, dark clouds can be seen floating across the lake. A storm was coming.


storm_resized.jpg


By the time I found my AirBnB host I was soaking wet. She offered to give me a ride to my standalone studio on the next street. There was a huge puddle ankle deep just in front of the stairs, but I managed to wade across it without dropping my DSLR. She put a plank across the puddle so that I can actually get out of my apartment.

Luckily, the storm passed quickly because otherwise, I would have been stuck inside my studio with no food! As soon as the sky cleared out a bit I grabbed my camera and started to explore the town. The storm had not dampen the beauty of the town. In fact, the low lying clouds after the storm gave the town a bit of a mysterious veil.


town1_resized.jpg

town_explore21.jpg

twon_explore2_resized.jpg


I walked alongside the lake and across the town. The one main street was dotted with tourists, with shops displaying colourful and tacky souvenirs enticing people to buy. Alleyways going uphill were lined with traditional Germanic Alpine houses with sharp roofs and wooden walls. Hallstatt is one of the oldest townships in Europe, dating back almost 3000 years. It is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


town_explore20.jpg

town_explore4.jpg

town_explore5.jpg

town_explore6.jpg

town_explore7.jpg

town_explore11.jpg


Soon, it was pouring again and I ran into the nearby Church of Christ that was built in the 18th Century for the Protestants in Hallstatt. I watched people pray and candlelight sway while I waited for the storm to pass. It had been a long day. So as soon as the rain stopped I ran to the supermarket, grabbed some supplies and headed back to my studio for a well-deserved rest.


~To Be Continued~

Sort:  

Great photography & storytelling! It reminds me of visiting Norway. Following for the rest of the journey!

Thanks. Stay tuned, next blog will be coming soon😊

Ehi, i really like your photos, these places look so beautiful!
I've never been in Austria but since it's near Italy, i will visit it soon.

You should, it's a beautiful place. Italy is very nice too. I will be writing something about my trip to Italy soon

@stabilowl你好!感谢你作为cn小伙伴的一员。我是cn区点赞机器人 @cnbuddy,旨在团结cn区成员,提供cn区动态和助力cn区发展

Beautiful scenery, beautiful air.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stabilowl to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow! What a lovely village :) Seems like I should visit there...
Check out @ryanne to see my travel photography :)

Awesome article! I just started my own. It's about my journey across the world over 4 years! Check it out! I hope you enjoy it.

Awesome photos <3 hope to travel there sometime ^^

You should! Highly recommend it! Thanks for resteeming!

Amazing! It is truly the most beautiful town, love your photos!

You have a great camera, because those pictures are wonderful! and the location as you said is beautiful and you did it justice, lovely post thanks. regards Gez.

Thanks for your comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81