Morning out with elder daughter - Gorleston, UK (Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

This week hasn't gone quite as I'd hoped. I'd booked the week off work to look after the dog as our dog walker was sunning herself in the Canaries and had lots of plans. Lots of exploring, a little photography and plenty of clearing up at home. Unfortunately my 6 year old came down with a tummy bug on Monday so I spent the rest of the week stuck at home playing Jenga and Frustration.

Thankfully she's now well on the mend so I braved the wind and rain and went exploring in Gorleston. It's only about 5 miles from home but I still haven't ventured out and about much since moving here so it was a lovely little road trip. I was delighted my elder daughter decided to join me.

We decided to take a stroll along Gorleston Pier and head along the mouth of the river the other side of the river to Great Yarmouth. We were delighted to see our local Lifeboat on the river carrying out a training exercise.

IMG_0313.jpg

IMG_0315.jpg

IMG_0334.jpg

It was cool to see a post on their Facebook page a little later in the day as it gave me an opportunity to share on of my pictures. The days training was around boat control.

Walking back I grabbed a snap of the Pier Hotel and Gorleston (Range Rear) Lighthouse.

IMG_0322.jpg

The lighthouse was built in 1878.

IMG_0357.jpg

This mist started to set in on the way back which looked pretty cool as the power station started to get engulfed. A few moments later it had completely disappeared.

IMG_0338.jpg

The ship is the Island Dawn and is a rig supply ship weighing in with a gross weight of 3315 tonnes.

IMG_0327.jpg

My eagle eyed daughter spotted this graffiti on the sea wall opposite a memorial for he No 24 ASR Unit, RAF Gorleston.

IMG_0362.jpg

I was surprised by the number of fishermen and women braving the elements. I'm not too sure of the seasons but understand the area is good for dabs (a small flatfish), cod and bass. Fishing is something I fancy giving a go in the not too distant future as we're less than a mile from the beach.

IMG_0374.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09