Snetterton: MSVR GT/Sports Race Weekend (Photography) Part 1

in #photography5 years ago

Elder daughter (8) recently started to show an interest in motorsport and wanted to come see some racing with me. I have to admit this filled me full of dread as I imagined she would get bored within 5 minutes and want to head home. Thankfully the opposite was true and we had a lovely few hours together at the MSVR GP/Sports race weekend at Snetterton.

We arrived as the Mini Challenge Cooper cars were finishing off the first race of the day. It was a nice introduction to elder daughter as she doesn't like noise and was a little worried. Seeing the end of the race was a gentle introduction for her as the cars aren't very loud.

Next on the timetable was a qualification session for the MSV SuperCup cars which were led out by this rather flashy looking 5 Series BMW estate car. It can't be a bad job!

IMG_0441.jpg

The course car was followed by an interesting selection of cars from the last few decades. The first I have a decent snap of is this 2001 SEAT Mk1 SuperCopa (as per the programme but I wonder if it's meant to be Cupra). Based on the design I'm sure I've photographed this car many moons ago at a British Tour Car event at Brands Hatch.

IMG_0468.jpg

Next we have Darren Goes in his 2016 Mangoes Racing Seat EuroCup car. I thought this was a Honda Civic which goes to show how out of date my car knowledge is these days. The green on the bodywork was stunning.

IMG_0484.jpg

Car of the day for me was this 1986 2300cc HVT Racing Ford Sierra. My daughter thought it a little odd that daddy's favourite car of the day was the oldest but it still had some legs. Here it is blasting past Sam Strong in a 2005 BMW130i.

IMG_0529.jpg

Next on my "schwing" list was this Team Bacon Butty Racing (yes you read that right) 1994 Porsche 968 (3000cc). What a cracking car. I was never a fan of Porsche cars when I was younger but I have to admit, old and new, they're growing on me.

IMG_0573.jpg

Next we have this Eurocopter AS 350B3 Ecureuil (2007). Somebody has a few quid as this is privately owned these days. It seems to be great up and down but was a little sloppy around the corners.

IMG_0580.jpg

#28 Barton not only didn't appear in the programme but also seemed to struggle with cornering...even more so than the helicopter. Looks to be a VW Golf to me.

IMG_0623.jpg

The 3200cc straight 6 engine in this 2003 BMW M3 sounded fantastic! I drove one of these several years ago, it was a car prepared and stripped out for drifting. I spent most of my time going around in circles...so much fun.

IMG_0692.jpg

Things started to get a little more serious once the SuperCup cars had done their bit as it was then time for GT Cup qualifying. These were some serious cars!

#55 was the JMH Automotive Lamborghini Huracan GT3 racing competing in the GTO class. Elder daughter had her fingers in her ears by now. That was until she figured we were standing on an embankment and she worked out it was far much more fun for her and dolly to roll down it.

IMG_0784.jpg

Next in line was the Signature RV/First Choice Croup Mclaren 570 GT4 competing in the GTH class.

IMG_0812.jpg

Elder daughter seemed to have completely lost the plot by now. Having turned around I found her perched on the bonnet of my car seeking some form of guidance from a greater being.

IMG_0814.jpg

I think we'll finish for today with this Ferrari 458 GTC which was a pointy thing of beauty.

IMG_0821.jpg

I didn't want to overload you with a massively long post so shall get around to the rest over the next few days. We're about 50% through the photos I prepared for this post which was a fraction of the 219 keepers I took.

All photos are my own work using a Canon EOS 6D Mk1 with a cheapo Canon 75-300mm lens.

Sort:  

Some lovely cars there.

Some of the cars in the car park were even more impressive than those on the track. It's a different world!

Hey @stav cool that your daughter likes to go to such a racing event. Wasn't it a bit too loud for her? Maybe you got a new Michael Schumacher in your family. Will you go to another race with her?

These cars weren't that loud really - not much more louder than a road car or certainly a motorbike as you can't get too near the track. She has ear defenders but didn't want to wear them...I guess they may cramp her style! I'd love her to get into racing and live some of daddy's dreams, she says she wants to go again next weekend so fingers crossed she doesn't change her mind.

Nice capture of moving cars there! Amazing!

I love how you share some bonding with your daughter. As they said, what the parents loved, is usually loved by the children as well. Good thing, she also loves auto racing. Who knows, maybe someday, she will train and become a professional driver, would you allow her by then?

Anyway, good job @stav and thanks for your wonderful share. God bless you two.

I'll support her in what ever she decides to do for a career even if I don't like it. Motorsport would be one I do like though as it was always a dream of mine but never one I could take up as a heavy built 6'3". I'm not made for snug fit cars!

Thanks for the compliment on the photos. I love photography of all kinds and am just a keen amateur with some fairly basic kit...it is easy to spend thousands. I used to go a lot before being married and having a family so it's nice to have a chance to go a little more often now the children are a little older.

Great images. Car racings can be really fun, especially if there are no accidents (some people enjoy those and actually hope to witness some wreck), for me accidents ruin the beauty of it.
It is a great thing when our children want to share our passtimes and actually end up loving them.
Those are the kinds of moments they (and we too) cherish for the rest of our lives.

I'm with you there in that I don't enjoy seeing accidents. Thankfully only a few errors yesterday and all were solo with a little trip through the grass.

Fingers crossed she'll want to go again - she has suggested going back next weekend which is just fine with me! Hopefully I can talk younger daughter into joining us.

Great. You guys have fun and stay at safe distance :)

It is always great when one of the children shows an interest in something you enjoy. Daddy/ daughter days are always special and maybe some more in the future.

Hi stav,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @stav! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I can totally understand your concerns about your daughter wanting to go to the race. Kids often get excited about something then they get bored after a few minutes but you were lucky. And we were lucky too because you could take these wonderful photos and do a post.
These sport cars are always fascinating, speed is fascinating too. I love how you were able to capture the cars and the background is like it's moving. Excellent photos! Well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09