Buildings on repeat, building today for tomorrow

in #photography4 years ago

Many of the buildings of Belgrade are interesting because of their lack of interest, built for function, not form. I like minimalist design, but these are something different again, and the repetition in architecture continues all through the regions where the influence of decades of hard times is obvious. Of course, in the former Yugoslavian countries, the memories of the civil war are not far distant and one doesn't have to be much past an adult to remember the conflicts as they ended in 2001.

As I mentioned, over dinner with clients I talked a little with them about it and how the recovery has been and my host looked around the table of people laughing and eating who represented all regions and said, "Look, here we are", she went on to say, "Times change, one has to learn to let go of the past". I think that this pragmatic view of the world comes from experience, pain and understanding that one does not ever want to see that past again.

In the room I trained in at the client company there was a quote from Einstein on the wall:

“The only source of knowledge is experience.”

I do not know much of the history of Yugoslavia and while Google can provide details, it can never provide the experience that living circumstances do - It will always be detached, limited, insensitive. Knowing the events of the past doesn't mean one has the understanding of what came to pass, so I will stay away from the historical sides.

This is a series of architectural images except for the first, which is the very last image I took from Belgrade before the battery in my camera died. I wasn't even sure if it saved it to the card. It was a dog and I while it was wearing a collar, I couldn't see an owner in sight. I gave it a pat and it would have been happy to get some more but I had to rush away.

belgrade15.jpg

I think that this next image is a good place to start the building set however, for as it reads at the bottom across the windows, "The cultural centre of Belgrade", which I think is fitting.

I like the repetition and even though I think that many might see this series as depressing, after spending a little time there and getting to know a few of the locals over dinner, I see them as kind of inspiring. Having my hosts talk about the changing world, about eating well but never wasting food, the environment, the economy, the debt cycles and how there must be a better way forward from here was uplifting.

Not one person I met seemed to hold resentment of the past nor bitterness, even though there was still a pain and discomfort in the way they spoke. All of them looked forward, all of them had optimism and hope that a better life is possible.

I had a chance to speak alone with the main host as she and her husband gave me a ride back to the hotel one night and there was one thing that we both agreed on heavily. It is a better life to try for better and fail, than to live a life on repeat.

belgrade14.jpg

belgrade2.jpg

belgrade5.jpg

belgrade1.jpg

belgrade3.jpg

belgrade13.jpg

belgrade7.jpg

belgrade-6.jpg

belgrade-11.jpg

belgrade-9.jpg

This was another quote from Einstein on their wall:

“Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.”

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


Onboarding

Sort:  

I was only once on Belgrad and I was overwhelmed by the quality of manner the people showed me. They are hard workers, decent people and striving for uprise. The City has a strong will and the culture reminded me of Germany in the 90s.

by the quality of manner the people showed me.

There is a sternness about them, but at the same time a type of dedication and will. I liked the people I spent time with a lot and wish I had a bit more time.

After what happened there, all the different countries in the region recovered in a different way. In Croatia, the foreign influences took a huge deal of development. But in Serbia, the changes are coming from within the society. The people are used to be productive as workers and grateful for business opportunities. Oldschool 'do good to earn good' mentality, which seemed to be lost in the super overflow of everything age.

I was in a restaurant, far outside of the opening hours and the employees still would have served anything I'd asked for. Later I was in a club with live music and was invited to a table of strangers and every time I'd asked for the way, they were honestly glad to be able to help me. Great people.

Oldschool 'do good to earn good' mentality, which seemed to be lost in the super overflow of everything age.

It does at least seem this way and I enjoyed how seriously they took the tasks they have in front of them. It definitely supported my training sessions.

A few more meals and perhaps some rakia with them would have been great.

I really enjoy your post, please keep it up. I'm very motivated to On-Board people to STEEM and you're a real proof to the world that it actually is worth the energy to do it!

Thank you very much :)
I think it is crazy there aren't more people here but I believe it is just a matter of time.

I quite like the buildings (alhough it looks like it was overcast weather while you were there?). These are the sorts of patterns I would draw on for textile designs. I prefer them to the glass edifices that are taking over either side of the Thames.

Yes, they do have a very strong textile feel to them and what I like is that the age and disrepair gives a texture to it. I like the new buildings when they are interspersed with the old and there are interesting reflections of the past throughout the city. I haven't spent much time in London though and I think the last time I was there was 2012.

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75