Crushed photos and poor edits

in #photography6 years ago

Last night I posted some images that I had "edited" in the Windows photo app which is terribly limited. The worst thing is that because I shot them in RAW format (.ORF for Olympus), the programme automatically converted to JPEG and crushed them down. I had a few minutes sitting at my desktop so I exported them through Lightroom instead with some minor tweaks to show the comparison that poor compression makes. Remember, these are now .jpg also and are uploaded to Imgur which I think crushes them a little too. When it comes to online images, there is generally a trade off between quality and speed.

I didn't have much time so I ran the ones I posted last night so people can see the difference. I will also add some before and after versions at the end too so you can see the originals. The 'Windows' ones are those from the Windows App.

Windows

Lightroom

Windows

Lightroom

Windows

Lightroom

Windows

Lightroom

Now, here are some before and after ones just to show the difference between original and processed. As said, I didn't have much time and I am not a great photo editor but, I generally try to capture the feel of the moment and generally, editing is needed to clean up and of course crop.

Original

After

Original

After

Original

After

The differences at time can be very subtle and it all depends on subjective taste as to what people like or not. Depending on the purpose will depend on the editing style although I am far too limited in skill to think so much about these things, but here are some great photographers and editors out there. Photography and the editing associated can eat up a lot of time which is something a lot of people don't factor into the effort involved. They see one picture and evaluate it based on only what they see. It is the same with most skills though.

My father was a painter and even though the viewer consumes the painting, they do not understand the hundreds of hours into each piece or, the thousands of hours of trial and error to build practical skills and develop an artistic style. For me, I just like to take pictures of things and dabble with the processing.

I will leave you with another fast edit of the lead image that just has a cross process over the top to show how an image can change the feel or be used in different cases. It isn't a great edit though well, at least I don't like it that much but my daughter sis still beautiful.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

With that beautiful baby as a model, an editing program that is used will be optimal and will take the points, but the real cause of the photos are so good is the baby.

I need to learn to use lightroom! What a huge difference in pixels, tone and overall quality.

Thank you for the side by side comparison.

What a huge difference in pixels, tone and overall quality.

It is overall an easy program to use for basic operations. There are others too but I am not familiar with them.

Thank you for the side by side comparison.

You are welcome.

I love the pictures concept, I don't know much about editing but I do like what I'm seeing and I think you tried. PS. Your daughter is so cute

@tarazkp whatever may be the photo,but the baby in the picture is really cute and lovely,her cuteness cant be changed even after editing.It is good that you learnt from this.keep sharing.

You got a 36.20% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14