Daddy, daughter, feathers and jewels

in #photography5 years ago

So, this is what we spent the morning doing and I have to say - it was a lot of fun. Parents that don't do arts and crafts with their kids at a young age are missing out and I am glad that we have been playing around like this since she was a baby. Oh, that is a pretty funny way to put it isn't it? She is technically still a baby but if you spent some time with her, you wouldn't think it. I think part of that is because her vocabulary is so broad and complex that it gives the illusion she is older than she is.

Look at that smile and those cheeks. She will unlikely ever be able to hide if she is happy as her whole face lights up and her cheeks go all squirrel-y. Her eyes smile too of course but when she is teary, they turn the brightest of blues. It is a little strange as even though my wife's eyes are blue too, our daughter actually has my mother's eye colour. When people see me, they don't piece together my mother was blue-eyed and fair-haired and I am predicting that when my daughter is older, people want pick her father as being dark. It is going to make for some interesting conversations with some less interesting people for her one day.

 
We used a lot of colour today for the willow twigs we decorated and not pictured here are the pink and silver jewels that we stuck along the sticks to give them a little bit of bling. This is her first time decorating them so I wanted her to have some bits of it to remember so, shiny things work well and as she was choosing which ones she would use, each time she would say, "I think this cutie one will be good" and point to it for me to peel them off as they were a bit fiddly.

We spent about an hour and a half to decorate six twigs as it takes time for her to choose and position the pieces. I had to help her with some of the things like gluing them on but she is pretty good at doing most things by herself as she does a lot of arts and crafts with her grandparents when she is there a couple days a week too. This is the other reason her vocabulary is good because her grandparents speak to her a lot and with very little adjustment in language. Her Finnish is stronger than English but considering 95% of her life is in Finnish, the gap isn't anywhere near that large.

 

And here we are, six finished virpoa twigs and I think that we will make a couple more in the evening so that we have a few to decorate our home with. These ones will be handed to the family we visit tomorrow morning and they will put them around their place and hopefully, some of the buds will bloom a bit further, but just in case, they have all that bling to make them pretty too.

I am looking forward to going with her tomorrow and even though she is now quite unlikely to be dressed as a witch, she is going to be cute just the same. She has learned the Finnish poem easily but I am unsure if she will say it when she knocks on the doors as she tends to get shy when there are many people around. Afterward, it will be onto Daddy/ Daughter coffee. I am glad I had a daughter because decorating with feather, glitter and chatting over coffee is more my thing than eating snails, or whatever a son would do :)

I still have to learn how to do her hair so she doesn't look like a Wildling though.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Apparently the light colouration genes are more recessive and like to skip generations XD

Wait til she's older and freaking people right out because she's talking like a mini adult (not speaking from experience or anything XD)

Was always hard to get my boys into arts and crafts, could somtimes get them to make stuff out of cardboard and pipecleaners and things, my girl loved making cards and things and painting. Definitely fun if messy XD Enjoy it now in case she ends up like mine and doesn't want to do it anymore when she's bigger :S

Wait til she's older and freaking people right out because she's talking like a mini adult

She already does this. Last year when she was just two we took her to a neurologist because if the issues she had last summer. AS my wife and the doctor talked the doctor said, "well, she has just passed all the tests for a three year old". The tests hadn't started yet.

I definitely enjoy these things while i can and I hope she will keep creating for a few more years yet.

Beautiful kid. I bet Uncle @galenkp loves these posts :)

He does. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

She is the greatest

My best memories are around that age with my daughter! They look at you as if you are the best no matter what you do! My craft failures were works of art for her as I was on that pedestal! Hope it never changes (although she now prefers mom for arts and craft$!

Posted using Partiko iOS

She loves playing around with these things but, her grandmother is definitely the favourite for it :)

arts and craft$!

Gangsta :D

It really depends who's got the strong genes. My wife is filipino, but my daughter doesn't have much trace of her Asian origins facially.. looks like your the week gened one on this occasion!

But my cheek genes are strong and as they say, cheeks are the window frame to the stomach.

Oh I can see you in her... there's no doubt about that. Funny who these things happen.

Most of @bingbabe's friends kids look distinctly Asian. Must be my Fitzpatrick skin type 1 that is a factor.

It is funny how it works. I would have liked another to see what happens :D

Interesting seemingly truthful thoughtful thought that the people who talk about how others look are not very interesting...highly probabable.

I have had a fair bit of experience with them and they are often (not always followers of public opinion, not leaders of it. I had one friend at primary school and he stuck by me no matter what - he was a leader at the age of 8 and continues on that way to this day.

That cutie sure takes after her uncle...🤣😍

Posted using Partiko Android

All the bling?

Well, I was thinking just the over all cuteness...But let's go with the bling as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dardy daughter love bond is strong. I can feel it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98