Do I make you thorny, baby?

in #photography6 years ago

Steem you are a thorn in my side yet, I enjoy the pain a little too. I seem to be a bit of a masochist. When I think of all the time, energy and thought I put into this place it makes we laugh a little, while wincing in pain. I think this is a good sign...I think.

I was saying the other day how I didn't really have any interest in things as a child and never dreamed of becoming something but, I have somehow become a kind of writer of sorts. I say kind of writer because what is a blogger? I don't really consider myself a blogger anyway yet, this does seem to be what I am doing here quite a lot.

I actually like having some of the scam present too, I like watching how people behave and how there is often a disconnect between what they say and how they act. There are often large discrepancies in how the community can view people too. The funny thing here is that there are people living multiple lives. Some have very public accounts that they boast community action on while supporting numerous alts with less than community behavior? Which one are they, the public figure or the 'private'?

I tend to think the person is the one they are when they feel no one is watching. They are the closed door personality because it is when there is no reason for a mask that people can act freely, lose their inhibitions and release social responsibility. They feel they act invisibly here because they think there is little linking the public persona to the private. What I have found here though is that no much happens when their bubble hits a thorn and bursts, the community largely ignore it.

My assumption is that there is a Those in glass houses agreement, where so many people are running background scams of one sort or another that if they throw their arms up or speak out too heavily, they feel the spotlight will shine their way and their bubbles will risk the points of thorns.

I find all of it quite interesting and very similar to some other people I have had both the pleasure and displeasure of observing from close range, politicians. There is of course going to be differences between what is public and what is private but, how different is acceptable and how fearful should someone be if private became public?

For me, I enjoy writing here, I enjoy being able to explore different topics and sides of myself and try, evaluate and renegotiate my positions. In the last year, as terrible as some of this has felt at times, I have enjoyed it immensely. At times, I think I take it too seriously but I also think that I must as the future opportunity is too large for too many people to just waste it and treat it like it doesn't matter.

These photos are from the garden outside of my building today.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

There is always a certain disconnect between our behavior in one place to another. I think the anonymity of internet makes this disparity only bigger. Then again, behavior is only an aspect of a person or who they are.
What I am trying to say is that at least I can't really tell who a person is from seeing what they choose to present on such a limited spectrum. On the other hand it is interesting to see folks and follow their pattern of behavior when it diverges from the usual. I guess it happen to me, so it is a solace to see an imperfection reflected back.

"Then again, behavior is only an aspect of a person or who they are."

I think this says a lot about peoples intentions. Many times you will hear a person is only acting that way because they are on the internet and that it's not really their character. I disagree, if someone chooses to act a certain way then that is their character, just a different part. On the internet we are willing to do things we otherwise wouldn't because of the anonymity.

I think the anonymity of internet makes this disparity only bigger.

That and the lack of 'real-world' repercussions.

Yes, there is that element with internet in general but with Steemit there exists a limiter. A person is got be careful about his account reputation and all. Of course, it is not as good as real life scenario but still it is something.

Nice photos. Agree they don't want to attract any attention as they are hiding what they are really up to. The ones who fly under the radar and are happy the heat is on a few other accounts. If you had to ask a Steemian to be truthful a large majority would fail. Then most people on here don't talk about their lives really so it could be the fantasy land here for them. I have found a group of bloggers/writers who are open about everything and that is what makes it real. That is what I enjoy. i haven't come here to hide and make a fortune. Maybe that is a lie lol. I will try but that wasn't my main aim.

I feel like the internet is a "fantasy land" for many. On the internet you are able to basically create whatever character model you want to. It can be vastly different than your character in real life and no one would ever know. How about do what you enjoy AND make a fortune ;)

I will try but that wasn't my main aim.

Main aim or not, there are something that are acceptable, some that cross lines. Everyone has different lines and for many, where they started and where they are now has shifted incredibly.

I can imagine. greed gets the better of them eventually. Money has never been a driving force in me. Somehow I have ended up with my arse in the butter a few times. This is not the case. This is serious dedication and no short cuts. Has taken nearly 2 months and now in touching distance of a vote worth 0.01.

Am a private person. I try to shy away from the spotlight as often as I can. It's not so bad.
Steem has really changed me too. I wasn't much of a writer or blogger, now I just write for fun

Steem and the internet in general as a great way of allowing people to branch out to new routes in life they wouldn't feel comfortable doing otherwise. I always loved writing and being creative but I didn't have the outlet to do it efficiently. Now I do :)

Some people have been so used to living double lives that it reflects on their day to day activities, where im from though, its easy for one to be forced to living a double life because of the weight of societal pressure, the life you live when you go out in the morning is different from the one you live when you're in the house. It is true that people are at their realest when there is no one watching, but some people have been so fake they dont even know how to be real anymore, that is what annoys me the most

I love it here, and everything that it brings, all the highs and lows, i love it all

Excellent shots, your skill of photography always brings out life in every shot you take, Bravo

You hit a raw nerve @mistakili. many people even don't know they are fake.

Thanks my G

There are lots of differences depending on location but, should one be ashamed by any of their actions if they become public. Embarrassed maybe, but shame is different.

People have more than one face.
they show their faces according to their moods..
Sometimes we all have to be a thorn.

People shed their masks when they no longer feel vulnerable, they might be watched by those who can’t judge them or whose judgment doesn’t incur consequences so they don’t fake who they are.

Vulnerability might be a weakness they hide or a desire that can’t be fulfilled if they genuinly behaved. That is why they are belived to change when they reached power or made wealth while they no longer have a reason to put on a mask.

A lot of people wear facades of being good and altruistic while stroking their ego and feeling superior to others.

A lot have public personas and a quiet scammy alt that games the system. I have seen these people. Hell I was one of these people at one point when I still posesses the scarcity mindset that only I should get the votes.

Yet people change, either because they stop it because they get called out to being a two faced liar and drama queen or because they experience a paradigm shift of emotion and belief.

I get you that Steem is both a bane and a curse, a medicine and a poison, a balm and an irritant. Yet I like being here because their is the opportunity for change, for dream building and providing a future to people who have less opportunities.

A lot of people wear facades of being good and altruistic while stroking their ego and feeling superior to others.

I was actually going to post about this. It annoys me when people comment to ego stroke hoping for votes but, I see other people rewarding the behaviour so I understand it. I don't mind having someone saying, nice photo or I like the idea etc but, it goes overboard. I am not needy and my ego is slowly being actively killed on purpose, there is very little to stroke.

Having a decent conversation, hearing the thoughts and opinions of others (agree/disagree), yeah, that has value. I like the idea of rewarding people for being human and ding their best, even if the quality isn't professional. There is a lot to like here, a lot to change. I am lucky as I enjoy both sides of it, maybe the problems a touch more ;)

You should see some of the comments in surpassinggoogle's post that people will upvote themselves 100% just so that they can be at the top of the comments and get the first run of upvotes even if their comment is nothing more than just kissing a lot of ass and would seem to have not read the post itself.

I comment on his post too but I try to get some ideas in on how I understood it or how I would work towards it. Now Terry being a good guy and all said he doesn't mind it because all he wants to do is spread his votes and build the dreams of these people. Great person and very caring to people so i can't find fault on what he is doing because he spreads the vote unlike Sweetsjjj. 2nd highest vote value in the platform and upvotes 65 accounts.

Ok that turned into a rant lol. When we see the problems we are able to try to think of a solution. Man by its nature likes solving problems. Well I enjoy them anyway.

What a beautiful poetic writeup, if steem were human. It’d fall in love with you. That’s some sharp thorn there , that could be used as weapon. Steemit is the most interesting place , platform I’ve ever been all my life and I’m enjoying it here too

For me, I enjoy writing here, I enjoy being able to explore different topics and sides of myself and try, evaluate and renegotiate my positions. In the last year, as terrible as some of this has felt at times, I have enjoyed it immensely. At times, I think I take it too seriously but I also think that I must as the future opportunity is too large for too many people to just waste it and treat it like it doesn't matter.
Anyway.
Great photography.....

"I tend to think the person is the one they are when they feel no one is watching. They are the closed door personality."
I agree with your statement..........

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29