Portraits from a plane

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I just climbed aboard the third flight of the day and thought I would take the wait on the tarmac and post something a bit different. These are images I took using my phone during the flight of people doing what people do.

I used the 5x zoom camera on the Huawei 30pro, which is surprisingly good for a phone camera. I ran the images through a slight crop and a quick process to add a bit more feel to them and despite them being on my phone, I quite like them.

It was a bit weird taking images in-flight like this as usually I would be looking out the window. The benefit of early flights though is that everyone is tired from the early wake up and look to catch a kip, giving me an opportunity for "street" photography.

What I like about this set is that they all look so serene and calm, kind of like the airline adverts.

One more short leg before arrival on location and while I left in cold, driving rain wearing a jacket - it should be sunny and warm for at least the next day or two. Hopefully tonight I can get out of the hotel for a wander with camera.

Hope you like the images as much as I do.

IMG_20191001_082202.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_362144220371270_20191001_082921379.jpeg

IMG_20191001_083704.jpg

IMG_20191001_083105.jpg

IMG_20191001_082502.jpg

IMG_20191001_083505.jpg

IMG_20191001_080616.jpg

IMG_20191001_080057.jpg

Taraz
[a Steem original ]

Onboarding

Sort:  

This goes to show you how sleep deprived all of humanity is! We all pass out on airplanes (sure, there are altitude/oxygen/pressure reasons, too). One day, society will look back at this time of the World and be confused with how we are living our lives. Much like we can't imagine how our ancestors survived without electricity!

Although, the first flight was at 445 in the morning, so it is understandable. The second leg was a 6am flight.

I agree though, we are more and more sleep deprived of quantity and quality and then wonder why we do not feel motivated or alert.

If it's 6am, I'd like to still be sleeping! Unfortunately that's not an option with 2 little ones (as you know with your daughter). One day, when they're older.. I'll get sleep again... One day...

What I like about this set is that they all look so serene and calm, kind of like the airline adverts.

Airline ads where the passengers look anything other than serene and calm are few and far between indeed. :)

That gave me an idea, though. Shoot people on planes who are seriously afraid of flying, fussy babies crying, causing diaper blowouts and making a mess, bored older children kicking the back of the seat in front of them, drunken and disorderly big men who refuse to stay in their seats and so on and so forth.

All the things you describe is pretty much how I am when I fly. :D

There’s material for you then. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Shoot people on planes

Probably not words you’d want to say in an airport though. 🙊🙉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Plane stalker!!! :0P

It is a captured audience.

Weirdo huh?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nobody is safe! First planes, then what next, trains... outside?!

Might be time to raise the drawbridge, drop the portcullis and double the watch at the Boom castle mate...Can't be too careful...Wouldn't want photos of the sleeping Boom to get out on to the interwebs...Not without royalty payments at least.

Posted using Partiko Android

Not more of those damn photos! You think I was asleep all the time or something! :OD

There is a corner of the internet dedicated to them. It isn't a small corner either due to numbers, not size.

It is only right I suppose!

Always fun to see what captures other peoples interest, normally I’d be staring out the window or at my phone on a plane and looking forward to getting off 🤣

Hope it’s a good flight and that you get to enjoy some sun 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Normally I would be too, but with three flights before midday, I had to break up the scenery. No time to enjoy the sun it seems, arrived to the hotel and the customer already has me heading to the office to test for tomorrow's starting day.

Not impressed, only 4/10. Capture mouths hanging open, drool forming wet patches on shirts and and the sound of snoring and You’ll get a solid 7/10. Bonus points for coke spilling into laps from those little bloody cups they give ya!

Posted using Partiko iOS

No little cups on these flights, too short and since forced to pay, no one really buys them :)

Ah ok...Sounds like Jetstar. Never flown with them...I like my little cups. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Only so many ways to get here and the last flight was a little squeezy

Well, at least you made it. I'm hoping the same happens for me Sunday. If we crash and burn you can have my crypto keys, Rolex and Landcruiser but you might have to sell all the steem and the watch to put fuel in the LC. 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Makes you wonder what these folks were thinking as they rested. I assume they did not know you were taking their photo. Thanks @tarazkp

If they did know, they played it cool. One caught me, but he couldn't know for sure :)

You are a proper stalker! Really nice images, especially considering you only used your phone.

I am still very shy, but I am trying to take a few more risks so I can get comfortable on the streets.

I can get comfortable on the streets.

Sounds gangsta!

I would definitely be one of those people passed out on the plane at least until . . .

The refreshments. For some reason after they start serving those I can never go back to sleep for the rest of the flight.

It's amazon how peaceful the pictures look without all the noise from the engines in the background.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79