Slowing it down

in #photography5 years ago

This is one of my favorite pictures I have taken is from our Honeymoon in Italy and after a night spent in Venice. My wife was ill and in the morning I tried to find her something to eat that she would be able to stomach. It was early and nothing was open and the streets were devoid of tourists, but a few of the locals were milling about and getting ready for their day ahead.

The shot for me has a classic feel to it and perhaps is something that wouldn't be out of place as a scene from a 1960s Audrey Hepburn film. Or perhaps that is just the way I like to imagine it because well, Audrey Hepburn ;)

While I dislike early mornings most of the time, I love them on holiday when I have nowhere else to be and I can just soak in the morning air and if I have a camera with me, all the better. It doesn't really matter where I am if the morning is like this, there is something sacred about that time before everyone has got going to break the silence for the day.

When I was a kid I would often get up before anyone else was awake and go for a walk around the garden and take i the morning. The earliest I remember doing this I must have been around eight years old. there were quite a few mornings walking home after bar nights enjoying the moments as an adult too. Those days seem long gone.

Now the morning are a rush to get ready and out the door so that I am not late to get to wherever random place I need to be that day. At the moment those days are going to be very long also and I don't think that a rush is the best way to start it off. I am happy with a coffee for breakfast, but I would really love to consume a half hour of peace and quiet to finish it in but I don't remember the last time I had that kind of luxury.

Well, this might have been it.

It was taken an hour or two later as my wife was feeling better and we found some berries and bread for breakfast and a quiet place to sit to enjoy them. It was nice and it seems like a distant dream that I had once upon a time that was remembered when I awoke, but stolen as I opened my eyes to begin the day.

Now, it is time to get back to work...

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I do share your feeling about early mornings! Best light there is for pictures most of the time. All the dust from the day before settled down, everyone is still relaxed and moving with a different speed through life during the first hours of the day. But I do prefer your second picture, it keeps me looking at what I really see there.

Morning hours are sacred, IMO. Whatever secret creative powers I have at my disposal, it seems that they can most easily manifested until about 12 or 1 PM. After that it's all about managerial tasks.

Sure, I can be creative around 10:22 pm too but it's forcing it.

Having some quiet mornings when I'm on vacation is heaven...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure, I can be creative around 10:22 pm too but it's forcing it.

:)
I am actually the most creative in the evenings but the mornings are almost like the calm before the storm (or could be). One day I hope to have the luxury of waking up to a good cup of coffee and sitting on the terrace looking out to sea to start my mornings.

Perfect timing I decided to sign into busy, just to feel out what a new interface looks like, and you're present, front and center. Taking a walk is probably the best thing to do in a pair.

hey, there are a couple I play on. Try www.steeve.app too as it has some cool features :)

You have received an upvote from @upvoteforsteemit. I am an automated upvotebot. This comment will automatically be posted under each post I upvotet.
Du hast ein Upvote vom @upvoteforsteemit erhalten. Ich bin ein Testbot und laufe automatisch.

This comment will get flagged for being spam very fast I am predicting.

Very nice works

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm not a big fan of mornings either but there is a refreshing newness to starting your day in the morning. And of course the early bird does get the worm. Thanks for sharing @tarazkp

I learned early in my life to get up and about early to be more efficient. It allows me to have a better evening as I could relax and wind down before sleeping. Since I am the only one to get up early in the house, I do get that silent time which is therapy while I read or have a workout.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 39.47% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31