Sunset and Dog

in #photography6 years ago

Firstly, Dog. I loved this sunset and this first photo of our dog is one of my favourite photos of him I have taken. There is something that just sums him up completely and having my wife there with him closes out the shot. The converse All Star label on the shoe adds a nice bit of detail to the story also. This is just a random click that happened to turn out well and although I took it, I don't feel I can take credit for it really.

It is funny when it comes to photography here as many people don't think a photo is worth what it gets which is likely a societal change as now, everyone thinks they are a photographer. Once upon a time, it all used to be done manually and the iconic shots of the past are masterpieces. It now has a Dilution of talent through advancement of technology vibe where the camera does the work, not the skills of the photographer. Of course, the difference between the really skilled and the point-and-clickers is obvious, but less so to the general public than the professional.

Anyway, here is my dog, Viski.

Cute, hey?

Now, here is the sunset that took my breath away. I loved this sunset so much and because it was taken in the summer, it lasted for a good 45 minutes. It was incredible and had a whole range of weather conditions contained within. The deep orange glow is rain falling and being caught by the sun.

My wife and I spent a good hour and a half watching all the colours change across the skies and talking about how rare and special it was to be able to witness it. It was more of an event than a sunset, nature's orchestra playing a symphony.

Here are a few of the shots

There. Not bad was it? Not too harmful on your psyche? 'Sometimes' I tend to take this life too seriously and many of my posts are heavily influenced by negatives of the world as that is where I tend to spend a fair bit of my time exploring. I am actually not an overly negative person by nature but, focusing on the positives is some of the worst advice I have ever encountered. People spend so long focusing there that when negatives do arise, they are completely unprepared to deal with them.

It may be a dog's life, but it is a dog eat dog world we have created. No matter what is going on though and even if none of us survive to bear witness, a beautiful sunset will always be just that.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

The doggy pic is excellent!
...not because I love dogs - I mean the actual photo.

....., focusing on the positives is some of the worst advice I have ever encountered.

😂😂 I went through my Deepak Chopra years to.

It may be a dog's life, but it is a dog eat dog world we have created.

I must disagree, sir! - most vehemently!

It was here when there were no dogs and the last dinosaur was hitting the ground.
We can't claim credit for the ultimate dynamic of nature.
Even we aren't that godlike.

My 'got to' head image when suffering delusions of grandeur...lolol

bbt.jpg

The one where the clouds are reflected off the water is a great shot . The reflection off the water is enhanced and you have to look close to see its reverse in the sky

Your dog must be a little worn out because he is not hovering across the ground

The amount of work and expense of an amature photographer were a lot . I remember when they used to have a photo club and classes in school

oops. i posted the original one. this is the edit:

not a huge difference but the RAW file format washes the colours out a little and I shoot with one leg shorter than the other it seems. always slanted to the right.

Hover dog is definitely getting tired these days.

you can always blame the slant as the natural curvature of the earth . Drive the flat earthers nuts

You really have to witness a magnificent sunset display like that to really appreciate it, absolutely stunning. The camera indeed does the bulk of the work for us amateurs, the dog photo looks like a masterpiece

Goodness me, I'd have to ask what camera you used in bringing this one to life? The sunset just took many dimensions and colours it's probably the sweetest place to do the Shoots on top that water really.
Were you always a photographer? I mean, hahsha

These are on a Canon 40D. I just play around from time to time :)

These are good​ shots, or let me better say the edits are good.
May I know which software you used for editing?

I am using Adobe lightroom :)

For comparison:

The left is the edit, the right the original. Shooting RAW washes the colours out so I use Lightroom to bring back and also sharpen some components. Also, shooting into the light means I had to reduce the shadowing on the boats a little.

It now has a Dilution of talent through advancement of technology vibe where the camera does the work, not the skills of the photographer. Of course, the difference between the really skilled and the point-and-clickers is obvious, but less so to the general public than the professional.

I absolutely agree about technology and the vibe. What still stands out to me when I am looking at photography as art is the photographer having the eye for a shot. Usually a true artist will have a natural tendency to see things a bit differently than the rest of the crowd and they have the ability to capture that perfect moment in time in a way that is unique and intriguing to the rest of us mortals.

I love your dog shot it instantly reminded me of the iconic ads and photos from the early days of skate and surf magazines. Please take that as a compliment, as that was my intention. Those shots influenced me so much in pivotal times in my days of finding myself and what I considered to be art and beauty.

What better way to view such a beautiful sunset than those closest to us?

Maybe not a Thrasher mag but I could see it in a RipCurl ad :)

Dude you’re an awesome photographer... don’t let anyone say otherwise. That’s an awesome shot of your doggo and some awesome sunsets!!

I don't know why but the picture of your dog and the converse reminds me of old western movies. He looks great too :-)

"my posts are heavily influenced by negatives of the world ................."

After reading a bunch of fluff on Steemit (and also being guilty of writing some of it) your posts actually are a breath of fresh air - negative influences and all :-)

Would you mind if I painted one of your gorgeous photographs?

not at all :)

Hi Taraz. They say dogs look like their owners and he looks full of character. The photo looks like something out of an advert. It is that good, I am not blowing smoke either. Really looks professional.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30