Columbus Circle Globe

in #photography5 years ago

Columbus Circle Globe

Columbus Circle is at the corner of Central Park at 59th Street and 8th Avenue and is an interesting area, I think I remember reading once it is the geographical center of NYC, and for this post I will focus on the globe on one of the corners , well since its a circle perhaps I should say on the edge of Columbus Circle.
Let me start with a shot looking up at the globe

1 globe at columbus circle4.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F22 1/60 Sec ISO 500
Click here to view larger



The globe is by Artist Kim Grandell and was installed in 2009

And since it is Sepia Saturday hosted by @old-guy--photos here is a shot of it in Sepia, I could not find out how tall the globe is online but this shot showing a person in the shot gives some idea of how big it is

1 globe at columbus circle2.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm 22 1/60 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger


Another shot showing the cool detail of the globe

1 globe at columbus circle3.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F22 1/60 Sec ISO 500
Click here to view larger


And a last shot of it in Mono showing again the full sculpture and some of the tall buildings behind it, the one under construction is I believe Central Park Tower which will be one of the tallest buildings in NYC, but I will talk more about that in a future post

1 globe at columbus circle.jpg

Sony A7iii 35mm F22 1/60 Sec ISO 500
Click here to view larger


I have no idea why I was using an aperture of f22 for these shots I guess it was too early in the morning and y brain wasn't really in gear lOL

And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.7687773 lat -73.9817756 long Columbus Circle NYC d3scr

Sort:  

What an artistic globe! And amazing shots as well! I love the sepia most, making it look a treasured antique! Hehehe! 😊

Thanks for the visit and feedback I do love getting an idea of which shots people prefer ;)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=columbus-circle-globe


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Really nice, @tattoodjay. I love the sepia tone version. That is an incredible sculpture. I’m glad you included a person in one photo to provide perspective on size!

Thanks for your visit and support I often never have people in shots but I am realizing sometimes they do add to a shot such as inthat case

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

22 probably because 800 :)
I don’t know why, but I try not to use more than 8-9 aperture, most likely I will make a faster shutter speed

I to try and not go over 11 for aperture unless I have to not sure what I was thinking this morning, as I could have gone for a higher ISO witht his camera and the shots would have been OK

Well ... your pictures are alright :)

Thanks kindly

Nice tones, JJ. That globe is huge.

Thanks and yes it is huge that is so cool

Good morning and happy start to the weekend, I am impressed that I have achieved here people who through their shots manage to transport me to that places, you are one of them, my favorite and the one who has achieved my greatest admiration is the second take , I will continue visiting you.

Thanks a rainy start to the weekend so I did not get my morning walk in but clearing up now so maybe later in the day I will get out for a photo walk and get my steps in :)
thanks for your feedback I am always interested to hear which shots people prefer in a post

have a great weekend

I will be very aware for your next ride.

Cool I also followed you so I can see your posts :)

I like photography but I'm just crawling in this field, I get carried away by emotions when I take them and I neglect some important details to make good shots.

For me the most important thing with photography is to have fun, sure its good to always be trying to improve but not if it takes away from the enjoyment, I am no expert but if you ever have questions feel free to ask :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks so much always appreciate your support

Interesting piece to look at...And the never ending changing NYC skyline...

Ohh yeah it sure is always changing, I am working on a project to show the 10 tallest buildings in Manhattan, the list has or will change a lot inthe last and coming year

That will be cool to see how many were built in the last 20 years...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29