Reaching for the skies

in #photography5 years ago

Reaching for the skies

On a recent walk through the gardens in the UN Compound, I noticed two new Pieces of art and got a few shots to share

Before I show you the full pieces let me show you some of the detail of one of them

1 Un Garden Art, Pakistan reaching for the skies4.jpg

Sony A7iii 128mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 320
Click here to view larger



And here is the full piece of art

1 Un Garden Art, Pakistan reaching for the skies.jpg

Sony A7iii 27mm F8 1/80 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger



As you can see, it is a gift from Pakistan and is by Amin Gulgee and entitled Reaching for the skies, when I saw it from the distance I thought it was interesting but when I looked at it closely as in the first shot I was quite impressed by it I must say

And here is the second new piece

1 Un Garden Art, Columbia Made from Molten Ammunition.jpg

Sony A7iii 52mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger



This piece is called Kusikawsav - Journey to a peaceful and fortunate life by Maric Opazo and a gift from Columbia
At first glimpse it may not seem that much but when I read the plaque it stated that it was made from melted down ammunition, and seeign as I worked for many years in peacekeeping missions it took on a special significance for me

And another shot of the detail of the first piece showing more of the detail in it

1 Un Garden Art, Pakistan reaching for the skies2.jpg

Sony A7iii 166mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.748774 lat -73.967344 long United Nations HQ NYC d3scr

Sort:  

I must say, that I had the same thoughts as @ninahaskin - the golden hand of Jaime Lennister 😊
Both pieces are interesting, but I would prefer the boat - the hands look bizzare and complicated somehow.

You have to watch The Game of Thrones, but be aware, that there's a lot of the white stuff in it ;)
!BEER
$trdo

Congratulations @johannpiber, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @tattoodjay!
@tattoodjay got 0.26661600 TRDO & @johannpiber got 0.17774400 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Maybe I need to actually watch Game of thrones seeing the shite stuff on a show i can handle I pretend it’s al special effects LOL
I to prefer the boat but was cool to see some new art in the gardens

!BEER

I loved the series except for the end, which was not as I have expected.
!BEER

I was just checking it out, it on HBO GO and I have a subscription and could watch it but they dont allow downloads so I cant watch it on the train but i can watch it at home on mY pc and after i finish the show I am watching i ay try that next

OK, after the first episode you will know, whether you like it or not :)
!BEER

True I just have to remember to start watching it after I finish the show I am watching now

!BEER

I'll remind you, if I don't forget ;)
!BEER

😂 were both so bad what’s the chance that one of you s will remember
But that said if I remember to install the HBO Go app tonight then it will be on the desktop and maybe I will remember

!BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @johannpiber, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 3 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the support and resteem

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Tattoodjay! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

Thanks Kindly appreciated

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

Thanks Kindly appreciated

I really like that second one. That is cool that they used melted down ammunition to make it. We need to do more stuff like that with ammunition. In my opinion :)

Ohh yes me to working inPeacekeeping for so many years that is something I would truly love to see more of

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Thanks Kindly appreciated

Both come with lovely message attached, hands are descriptive as is what looks to be a boat to voyage on. Nice photography and here is wishing you a wonderful new month.

Yes I think both have a good message i think they are real cool additions to the gardens, not being in the main building now i do miss my daily walks around the gardens, with all the donated sculptures its like a little art gallery

So far the month is starting wel I hope it is for you as well

Nice to see gardens with art work that is not being vandalized, the gardens are clean and well kept, sadly our public gardens most have shown negative signs of wear and tear.

Sadly I think that happens everywhere, these gardens are not public, only staff can go into the gardens these days for security reasons and there are security cameras around so luckily they are safe from vandalism

Truly sad that we live a life under lock and key, at least the art is safe, not quite what was originally planned of that I am sure.

Yes I keep hoping times will change and people will respect property and art, but no sign of it yet

The hands are pretty creepy.. I dunno why. They still look pretty amazing though!

I guess they could be seen as creepy i saw that a little but not too creepy for me LOL

Definitely those hands are a great piece of art but yes I agree with you just a little odd.

A. Little odd yes but a creative idea i think :)
Thanks for your visit and have a great day

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=reaching-for-the-skies


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cheers appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10